ADG Preview: 'Grand Budapest,' 'Imitation Game' to Face Off in Period Film Category

Grand Budapest Lobby - H 2015
Fox Searchlight

Grand Budapest Lobby - H 2015

The Art Directors Guild holds its annual awards on Jan. 31 at the Beverly Hilton, and four of its feature nominees are films that also nominated for the Oscar in production design.

The Academy Award nominees are The Grand Budapest Hotel, Adam Stockhausen, production design, and Anna Pinnock, set decoration; The Imitation Game, Maria Djurkovic, production design, and Tatiana Macdonald, set decoration; Interstellar, Nathan Crowley, production design, and Gary Fettis, set decoration; and Into The Woods, Dennis Gassner, production design; and Anna Pinnock, set decoration. The fifth Oscar nominee is Mr. Turner-- Suzy Davies, production design; Charlotte Watts, set decoration--which brought to the screen painter J.M.W. Turner's life in the 1800s.

Read more SAG Awards: Complete List of Winners

The feature competition at the ADG Awards is divided into three categories for period, fantasy and contemporary film. That means that in the period film category, production designer Stockhausen's work on The Grand Budapest Hotel—which involved converting an abandoned art nouveau department store in Germany into the title hotel—and Djurkovic's work on the The Imitation Game—which included creation of a "working" model of Alan Tuning's early computing machine -- will compete against each other. That ADG category is rounded out by production designers David Crank for Inherent Vice, John Paul Kelly for The Theory of Everything and Jon Hutman for Unbroken.

Meanwhile the production designers of sci-fi adventure Interstellar –whose work included creation of a futuristic space ship that was grounded with influences from NASA—and Stephen Sondheim musical Into The Woods –whose woods were “beautiful and scary” --- are both nominated in the fantasy category, alongside Peter Wehham for Captain America: The Winter Soldier, James Chinlund for Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, and Charles Wood for Guardians of the Galaxy.

ADG has had three features category since 2006. Since then, the winner in period film has gone on to win the Oscar three times including a year ago for The Great Gatsby, and earlier for Hugo and The Curious Case of Benjamin Button. Twice since 2006 the Oscar went to the winner in ADG’s fantasy film category, for the films Avatar and Pan’s Labyrinth.

This year’s ADG nominees in the third feature category, for a contemporary film, are James J. Murakami and Charisse Cardenas for American Sniper, Kevin Thompson for Birdman, Jess Gonchor for Foxcatcher, Donald Graham Burt for Gone Girl and Kevin Kavanaugh for Nightcrawler.

Twitter: @CGinLA