Advanced Imaging Society Unveils Distinguished Leadership Award Recipients

Hollywood Sign - Getty - H 2017
Getty Images

The Advanced Imaging Society on Wednesday unveiled 10 industry innovators who will receive its Distinguished Leadership Award at a Dec. 13 ceremony in Hollywood. The honorees were selected by a special awards committee for having had an "impact using innovation."

Recipients include Carolyn Giardina, tech editor, The Hollywood Reporter; Christina Heller, CEO, Metastage; Kristen Lauria, GM, Watson Media and Content, IBM; Nonny de la Peña, CEO and founder of Emblematic Group; Alice Taylor, director, StudioLAB, The Walt Disney Studios; Sophia Velastegui, GM, AI Product Unit, Microsoft; Boo Wong, group director, emerging technology, The Mill; and Tracy Wright, director, human resources business partner, Netflix.

Additionally, the award will be presented to two organizations for fostering the growth of technology professionals. Those to be honored include Lauren Washington, Regina Gwynn and Esosa Ighodaro of Black Women Talk Tech and Martina Welkhoff, Abby Albright and Malia Probst of the Women in XR Fund.

"One day each year, our community of technology stakeholders comes together to recognize the achievements of their colleagues," Society president Jim Chabin said in a statement. "This year we recognize not just the most impactful innovations, but importantly, the people and teams behind those incredible achievements," he added.

The AIS previously announced 15 honorees for its 9th annual Technology Lumiere Awards, including Apple, for its ProRes Raw codec; IBM Watson computer incorporating AI; DreamWorks Animation, for its openVDB data structure system; and more.