Art Directors Guild to Induct Three Into Hame of Fame

Warner Bros./Courtesy The Neal Peters Collection

Not surprisingly, Rick and Ilsa's war-torn romance was a big favorite among seasoned poll respondents. Among those in their 60s, it was the third-most-popular picture, while among those in their 20s, it was 37th. Also not a big shocker, men and women had different opinions: Casablanca was males' third-favorite film and females' 14th. But then, men always prefer their love stories with Nazis in them.

See the box office totals, famous quotes and more.

Three influential production designers – John Gabriel Beckman, Charles Lisanby and Walter H. Tyler – will be inducted posthumously into the Art Directors Guild Hall of Fame at the guild’s 19th annual Excellence in Production Design Awards ceremony Jan. 31 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Beckman’s work has included Casablanca, Lost Horizon and Les Miserables (1935), as well as TV series such as Designing Women, Nero Wolfe and The Partridge Family.

Lisanby is the only art director to have been inducted into the Television Academy’s Hall of Fame. He received Emmys for Barry Manilow: Big Fun on Swing Street (1988), Baryshnikov on Broadway (1980) and The Lives of Benjamin Franklin (1975).

Tyler won an Academy Award for best art direction-set decoration, color, for Samson and Delilah. In addition, Tyler received eight Oscar nominations for films including The Ten Commandments, Sabrina (1955) and Roman Holiday.

Nominations for the ADG Awards will be revealed. 5. As previously announced, Emmy-winning and Oscar-nominated production designer Jim Bissell will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award during the ceremony.

Twitter: @CGinLA