ASC Awards Preview: Cinematography Record Might Be Tied This Weekend

Unbroken Still 3 - H 2014
Courtesy of Universal Pictures

Unbroken Still 3 - H 2014

Two of Hollywood's most respected directors of photography -- Roger Deakins and Emmanuel "Chivo" Lubezki -- stand to tie a longstanding record set by legendary cinematographer Conrad L. Hall should either win the top award Sunday at the 29th annual American Society of Cinematographers Outstanding Achievement Awards.

Both Deakins, who is nominated for Unbroken, and Lubezki, up for Birdman, have three prior wins in features. A fourth for either would tie Hall's record of four wins in the ASC's feature category. Hall, a three-time Oscar winner and ASC Lifetime Achievement honoree who passed away in 2003, won the ASC category for Road to Perdition, American Beauty, Searching for Bobby Fischer and Tequila Sunrise.

Lubezki previously won ASC Awards for The Tree of Life, Children of Men, and last year's Gravity, for which he also won an Oscar. Deakins--who also has an ASC Lifetime Achievement Award--won the ASC feature competition for Skyfall, The Man Who Wasn't There and The Shawshank Redemption

The three additional feature nominees are vying for their first ASC win. They are Oscar Faura, who photographed the dramatic thriller The Imitation GameDick Pope, for the painterly Mr Turner; and Robert Yeoman, who combined different aspect ratios to reflect different decades of The Grand Budapest Hotel.

In the television categories, the cinematography on Game of Thrones, Gotham and Manhattan lead the competition with two nominations each. ASC will also hand out a Spotlight Award, which debuted last year to honor cinematography in features or documentaries that are typically screened at film festivals, internationally or in limited release.

Barbra Streisand will be on hand to be honored with the ASC Board of Governors Award.

Also during the evening, director of photography John Bailey—who credits include Ordinary PeopleAmerican Gigolo and The Big Chill—will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award. Bill Roe will be presented the Career Achievement in Television Award; Phil Méheux will be honored with the International Award; and Matthew F. Leonetti will be recognized with the Presidents Award.

The sold-out ceremony will be held at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza.

Twitter: @CGinLA