ASC Awards Preview: What to Know Ahead of the Cinematographers' Big Night

The lensers behind 'Arrival,' 'La La Land,' 'Lion,' 'Moonlight' and 'Silence' are competing for the ASC feature film prize.
Clockwise, from lower left: 'Moonlight,' 'Lion,' 'Arrival,' 'Silence,' 'La La Land'

This year, the five feature film nominees at the American Society of Cinematographers Awards are the same five who are nominated for the Oscar in cinematography.

Here’s more to know before the 31st annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards, which will be handed out Saturday at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

The cinematographers behind Arrival, Lion, La La Land, Moonlight and Silence are nominated in the ASC feature competition.

This is the first ASC nomination for Greig Fraser, for Garth Davis’ A Long Way Home adaptation Lion; James Laxton, for Barry Jenkins’ coming-of-age drama Moonlight; Linus Sandgren, for Damien Chazellle’s musical La La Land; and for Bradford Young, for Denis Villeneuve’s sci-fi film Arrival.

Rodrigo Prieto, who photographed Martin Scorsese’s 17th century Japan-set Silence, was previously nominated for the ASC Award for Brokeback Mountain and Frida.

The ASC feature competition mirrors the nominations for the Oscar in cinematography.

In six of the last 10 years, the winner of the ASC Award in the feature category went on to win the Oscar in cinematography. Only Prieto has a prior Oscar nomination, for 2006’s Brokeback Mountain.

Game of Thrones is a double nominee in the ASC TV competition.

Nominees in the various TV categories also include House of Cards, Mr. Robot and Westworld. A complete list of nominees can be found here.

The evening’s special honorees include Nancy Schreiber, the first woman cinematographer to receive the Society’s Presidents Award.

Honorees also include Denzel Washington, who will be presented the Board of Governors Award; Ed Lachman (Carol), who will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award; Ron Garcia (Rizzoli and Isles), who will be given the Career Achievement in Television Award; and Academy Award winner Philippe Rousselot (A River Runs Through It), who will accept the International Award.