ASC Awards Preview: What You Need to Know About Sunday's Ceremony

Carol Rooney Mara Still - H 2015
'Carol,' Courtesy of The Weinstein Company

Here's your cheat sheet for the American Society of Cinematographers' 30th ASC Awards for Outstanding Achievement, which will be presented Sunday night at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

The feature nominees are Roger Deakins for Sicario, Ed Lachman for Carol, Janusz Kaminski for Bridge of Spies, Emmanuel Lubezki for The Revenant and John Seale for Mad Max: Fury Road.

Lubezki has won the cinematography Oscar and ASC feature category the past two years for Gravity and Birdman. With last year's ASC Awards win, he tied the late Conrad L. Hall's record of four ASC Awards in the feature category. A win this year would make him the only lenser to receive five awards in that category, and also the only cinematographer to win it three consecutive times.

Deakins is one short of joining them with four. He has three previous ASC feature wins, for Skyfall, The Shawshank Redemption and The Man Who Wasn’t There.

Four of the five ASC feature nominees are also nominated for the Oscar in cinematography.

For the Academy Awards, three-time Oscar winner Robert Richardson's lensing of The Hateful Eight was nominated alongside Sicario, Carol, The Revenant and Mad Max.

Gotham and Marco Polo are double nominees in the television categories.

Nominees in the category for an episode of a regular series are Christopher Norr for Gotham episode “Strike Force” and Crescenzo Notarile for Gotham episode “Scarification.” The list also includes Vanja Cernjul for Marco Polo, “The Fourth Step”; David Greene for Syfy's 12 Monkeys, “Mentally Divergent”; and Fabian Wagner for HBO's Game of Thrones, “Hardhome.”

Romain Lacourbas’ work on the pilot of Marco Polo was nominated in the category for TV movies, miniseries or pilots. Rounding out the noms in this category are Martin Ahlgren for the pilot of NBC's Blindspot, Pierre Gill for Amazon's Casanova, James Hawkinson for Amazon's The Man in the High Castle pilot and Jeffrey Jur for HBO’s Bessie.

Three cinematographers are up for the ASC Spotlight Award, which recognizes outstanding cinematography in feature films and documentaries that are screened at festivals, internationally or in limited theatrical release.

The nominees are writer-director-cinematographer Cary Joji Fukunaga for Netflix’s Beasts of No Nation, Adam Arkapaw for helmer Justin Kurzel’s Macbeth and Matyas Erdely for director Laszlo Nemes' foreign-language Oscar frontrunner Son of Saul.

Special honorees include Lifetime Achievement Award winner John Toll.

Toll won consecutive Oscars as director of photography on Edward Zwick's Legends of the Fall in 1995 and Mel Gibson's Braveheart in 1996. Ridley Scott is the Board of Governors Award honoree; Lowell Peterson will be recognized with the Career Achievement in Television award; and Bill Bennett will take home the ASC presidents award.