American Society of Cinematographers Names Student Award Recipients

Recipients were honored during a ceremony on Saturday evening.
Courtesy of ASC
Nicolas Aguilar Ketchum

The American Society of Cinematographers selected three winners of 2015 ASC Gordon Willis Student Heritage Awards, which were presented Saturday evening during a ceremony at the organization’s Hollywood clubhouse. Each year the Heritage Award is renamed in memory of an ASC member, and this year, it’s dedicated to Willis, best known for his iconic work on the Godfather trilogy.

The winning students and their projects are Steven Holloway from American University for The Defeat x3 (graduate award winner), Nicolas Aguilar Ketchum from Chapman University for Run (undergraduate winner), and  Rob Scribner of Full Sail University for Warbird Pilot: Behind the Visor (documentary winner).

During the evening, all nominees were presented with certificates. That included Garrett Nicholson of Ithaca College, Sten Olson of Chapman University, Casey Schendel of California State University, Northridge, Oren Soffer of New York University, West Webb from the University of North Carolina School of the Arts, Justin Alpern of Chapman University, Paul Cannon of UCLA, John Wakayama Carey of Columbia University School of the Arts, Nico Navia from AFI and Justin Perkinson of UCLA.

The ASC hosted a screening of all of the nominated work on Friday.