Avid to Receive Charles S. Swartz Award From Hollywood Post Alliance

The "nonlinear" editing pioneer will be recognized for outstanding contributions to postproduction.

Avid will receive the Hollywood Post Alliance’s Charles S. Swartz Award for outstanding contribution in the field of postproduction during the eighth annual HPA Awards at the Skirball Cultural Center on Nov. 7.

Previous recipients include iconic sound pioneer and inventor Ray Dolby; Ben Burtt, the Oscar-winning sound designer who created the “voice” of R2D2; and USC School of Cinematic Arts Dean Elizabeth M. Daley.

Avid led the revolution in “nonlinear” editing 25 years ago, forever changing the way that projects were finished from a film-based to a digital process. Avid unveiled a prototype of its first nonlinear editing system – the avid/I – at the 1988 NAB, and within just a few years its products began to dethrone traditional film-editing tools. Since then, the company expanded into audio production, broadcast, and live sound. Its technologies have been recognized with two Oscars, a Grammy and 14 Emmys.

STORY: NAB: Avid Unveils New Versions of Media Composer, Pro Tools

“From its founding days to the present, Avid has not only helped to lead our industry’s transition to new, powerful digital creative tools, but has also expanded the creative image and sound postproduction palette in a way that has fundamentally enabled new creative abilities,” said Leon Silverman, president of the HPA. “Building on their strong heritage of innovation, it is exciting to see Avid’s ongoing dedication to our community.”

Louis Hernandez Jr., president and CEO of Avid, will be on hand to accept the HPA trophy on behalf of the company.

The award was named in honor of the late Charles S. Swartz, who led the Entertainment Technology Center at USC from 2002 until 2006, helping to build it into an influential industry test bed for new digital cinema technologies. He was a member of the HPA Board of Directors until his death in 2007.