Bill Feightner, Milt Schefter, Tom Scott Among SMPTE Honorees

Bill Feightner - H 2013
Courtesy of SMPTE

Bill Feightner - H 2013

Hollywood industry vets Bill Feightner, Milt Schefter, and Tom Scott will be among the honorees at the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers’ annual awards ceremony, Oct. 24 during its upcoming conference at Loews Hollywood Hotel.

Honorees also include Keiichi Kubota, who will receive SMPTE’s hightest recognition, the Progress Medal. He is honored for his contributions to HDTV standards, the rollout of NHK's digital satellite broadcasting service, and most recently, Ultra HD standards and coverage of the 2012 London Olympics in 8K Super Hi-Vision.

PHOTOS: George Lucas, Sarah Chalke Honor Jeffrey Katzenberg at Anti-Defamation League Dinner

Milton R. Shefter will receive the Archival Technology Medal. He is co-author and co-editor of "The Digital Dilemma," a report on the industry's archival challenges in the digital era, published by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Science and Technology Council. He's also a past president of the Association of Moving Image Archivists.

Thomas A. Scott—who won Oscars for best sound for The Right Stuff and Amadeus—will receive the Samuel L. Warner Memorial Medal. Scott's career included work on Apocalypse Now at American Zoetrope. While director of engineering at Skywalker Sound, he supervised production and deployment of the EditDroid and SoundDroid computer-based picture and sound editing equipment.

Image science expert William C. Feightner will be awarded the Technicolor/Herbert T. Kalmus Medal. At CIS, he helped to develop the  pin-registered telecine system that revolutionized the process of image compositing from film sources. As co-founder of EFILM, his innovations including new software for digital laboratory calibration and one of the first digital intermediate pipelines.

STORY: Ustream's David Gibbons to Present SMPTE Luncheon Keynote

Chuck Pagano will receive the David Sarnoff Medal for his work at ESPN, including creation of its Bristol-based Digital Center; adoption of HD; creation of ESPN's infrastructure for online, mobile, and TV Everywhere; 1080p L.A. Production Center; experiments in virtual reality; 3D sports production; new research facilities that are testing 4K; and work on the Digital Center 2 that will go live in 2014.

The Digital Processing Medal will be presented to R. Norman Hurst for methods for splicing MPEG-2 transport streams, development of test bitstreams for evaluating compression equipment, and development of electronic test patterns.

The Kodak Educational Award will recognize Edward J. Giorgianni, who was principal architect of the Academy Color Encoding System (ACES), developed to create a more seamless interchange of film, video, and CG imagery.

The Workflow Systems Medal will be presented to John Anthony Footen, a leader in AMWA and EBU's FIMS (Framework for Interoperable Media Services) effort.

The Excellence in Standards Award will be presented to John Hurst of CineCert for his efforts in D-Cinema standards and interoperability.

STORY: Honors and Hires: Jim Whittlesey, Barry Zegel Among 14 Newly-Named SMPTE Fellows

The SMPTE Presidential Proclamation will be awarded to William C. Miller, who recently started a program in which he matched donations made by other SMPTE members to pay for student memberships, resulting in more than 250 new student members.

The 2013 SMPTE Journal Award will be presented to Wayne E. Bretl for "Theoretical and Practical Limits to Wide Color Gamut Imaging in Objects, Reproducers, and Cameras.” Journal Certificates of Merit will be awarded to Brian Long, Roger Schwenke, Peter Soper, and Glenn Leembruggen for "Further Investigations Into the Interactions Between Cinema Loudspeakers and Screens," and to Martin S. Banks, Jenny C. A. Read, Robert Allison, and Simon J. Watt for "Stereoscopy and the Human Visual System."

Citations of Outstanding Service to the Society will be presented to Peter Collis, Tim Dwight, Bruce Follmer, Eric Gsell, and Oleg Nikolayevich Raev.

The Louis F. Wolf Jr. Memorial Scholarship will be awarded to Joshua P. Berkowitz, who is studying at the Rochester Institute of Technology.