Camerimage Reveals Main Competition Lineup

Titles include 'Wonder Wheel,' 'Wonderstruck' and 'mother!'
Courtesy of Amazon Studios
'Wonder Wheel'

The main competition lineup has been announced for the 25th International Film Festival of the Art of Cinematography Camerimage, which will be held the week of Nov. 11 in Bydgoszcz, Poland.

The list includes some titles that are already getting an Oscar push from their studios, including Wonder Wheel, lensed by veteran three-time Oscar winning cinematographer Vittorio Storaro (Apocalypse Now); Wonderstruck,  photographed by two-time Academy Award nominee Ed Lachman (Carol); and Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, lensed by cinematographer Ben Davis (Guardians of the Galaxy).

The lineup also includes Angelina Jolie’s First They Killed My Father, shot by Oscar winner Anthony Dod Mantle (Slumdog Millionaire); and Darren Aronofsky’s controversial mother!, photographed by Oscar nominated Matthew Libatique (Black Swan).

In three of the last four years, the winner of the main competition — who is awarded the Golden Frog — has gone on to receive an Academy Award nomination in cinematography. That included Lachman for Carol in 2015, and one year ago, Greig Fraser for Lion.

The main competition lineup follows:

Brimstone, cin. Rogier Stoffers, dir. Martin Koolhoven
The Butcher, the Whore and the One-Eyed Man, cin. Tibor Máthé, dir. János Szász
First They Killed My Father, cin. Anthony Dod Mantle, dir. Angelina Jolie
Hochelaga, Land of Souls, cin. Nicolas Bolduc, dir. François Girard
Loveless, cin. Mikhail Krichman, dir. Andrei Zvyagintsev
mother!, cin. Matthew Libatique, dir. Darren Aronofsky
On Body and Soul, cin. Máté Herbai, dir. Ildikó Enyedi
Still Life, cin. Jonathan Ricquebourg, dir. Maud Alpi
Sweet Country, cin. Dylan River, Warwick Thornton, dir. Warwick Thornton
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, cin. Ben Davis, dir. Martin McDonagh
Volhynia, cin. Piotr SobociƄski Jr., dir. Wojtek Smarzowski
Wonder Wheel, cin. Vittorio Storaro, dir. Woody Allen
Wonderstruck, cin. Ed Lachman, dir. Todd Haynes