Christopher Nolan to Receive Art Directors Guild's Cinematic Imagery Award

Christopher Nolan Horizontal - H 2014
AP Images

Christopher Nolan Horizontal - H 2014

Christopher Nolan will receive the Art Directors Guild's Cinematic Imagery Award at the 19th annual Excellence in Production Design Awards, set to be held Jan. 31 at the Beverly Hilton.

The award is "given to those whose body of work in the film industry has richly enhanced the visual aspects of the moviegoing experience." Past recipients include Martin Scorsese, Warren Beatty, Clint Eastwood, Norman Jewison, John Lasseter, George Lucas, Steven Spielberg and Blake Edwards.

Watch more Watch The Hollywood Reporter's Full 'Interstellar' Discussion With Christopher Nolan, Stars

ADG Council chairman John Shaffner and awards producers Dave Blass and James Pearse Connelly said in a joint statement: "Christopher Nolan’s body of work reflects a clear appreciation for the contribution Production Design brings to the stories he brings to life. His creative legacy is quite remarkable and it demonstrates a great love and respect for our visual medium. The teams of designers and craftspeople that he continues to bring together as a vital part of his filmmaking family are always of the highest caliber, and their work is among the most celebrated, unique and creative in our craft. Christopher Nolan’s films remind us over and over again why we love to go to the movies."

See more 'Interstellar' Premiere: Matthew McConaughey, Anne Hathaway, Christopher Nolan Hit Hollywood

Nolan most recently directed Interstellar. Other credits include Batman Begins, The Dark Knight, The Dark Knight Rises, Inception, The Prestige andInsomnia.

Nominations for this year’s ADG Excellence in Production Design Awards will be announced on Jan. 5. As previously announced, Jim Bissell will receive the guild’s Lifetime Achievement Award; John Gabriel Beckman, Charles Lisanby and Walter H. Tyler will be inducted into the ADG’s Hall of Fame.

Comedian Owen Benjamin will host the awards ceremony.