Cinematographers Name Nominees for Linwood Dunn Student Heritage Awards

The American Society of Cinematographers re-names the Heritage Award annually in memory of an ASC member.

The American Society of Cinematographers has named 12 students from 10 U.S. film schools as nominees for its ASC Linwood Dunn Student Heritage Awards.

The nominees in the undergraduate category are Freddy Domini Alcantara of City College of New York for Harvard on Hudson; Harper Alexander of University of North Carolina School of the Arts for Starlight; Jackson Eagan of Ithaca College, Roy H. Park School of Communications for Door to Door; Jeanpaul Isaacs of Rutgers University, Across Dystopia; Mike Reyes of Art Center College of Design for Hero Sandwich; and Arden Tse of Loyola Marymount University for The Imperfect Method.

PHOTOS: 10 Classic Sci-Fi Movies With Better Effects Than Modern Films

In the graduate category, nominees are Matthew Edwards of University of Southern California for Vicious, Wesley Hunt of American University for Among The Lost, Guy Pooles of the AFI for Dirty Laundry, and Doug Potts of Chapman University for Andre Foster.

A pair from Chapman, Matthew Blake for Forest Keepers and Benjamin Mullinkosson for The Pink Helmet Posse, are nominated in the category for documentary work.

The Heritage Awards -- which are renamed annually in memory of an ASC member -- are designed to showcase the artistic skills of next generation of filmmakers, with a focus on cinematography.

This year’s winners will be announced June 14.

Twitter: @CGinLA