Darren Aronofsky to Be Honored by Sound Editors

Darren Aronofsky Horizontal - H 2014
AP Images

Darren Aronofsky Horizontal - H 2014

Darren Aronofsky will be honored with the Filmmaker Award at the Motion Picture Sound Editors (MPSE) upcoming Golden Reel Awards.

Aronofsky received Oscar, BAFTA and Directors Guild award nominations for Black Swan. His credits also include The Wrestler, The Fountain, Requiem for a DreamPi and recent biblical film Noah.

Said Aronofsky: "One of the first reasons I was inspired to become a filmmaker was the exciting possibilities of experimenting with sound, so it is an incredible feeling to be honored by the MPSE. Sound dreams, sound emotes, and most importantly sound is what often saves my ass."

Read more The Screener Game: Why You Got the Ones You Got When You Got Them

MPSE president Frank Morrone described the filmmaker as a "master storyteller whose work exhibits a strong creative vision and bold visual and audio style. … Darren Aronofsky's films are both challenging and immensely entertaining, as evidenced by their critical acclaim and box-office success."

Past recipients of the MPSE Filmmaker Award include Steven Spielberg, George Lucas and Ang Lee.

As previously announced, sound mixer and editor Skip Lievsay will receive the MPSE Career Achievement Award during the Feb. 15 Golden Reel Awards ceremony.

Email: Carolyn.Giardina@THR.com
Twitter: @CGinLA