'Dawn of the Planet of the Apes' Tops VFX Competition at Postproduction Awards

Editors Alan Heim and Randy Roberts were feted with Lifetime Achievement honors at the Hollywood Post Alliance’s annual awards
20th Century Fox

The visual effects on Dawn of the Planet of the Apes topped last year’s Oscar winner Gravity, to win the feature VFX category at the 9th annual Hollywood Post Alliance Awards, Thursday at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles.

Gravity did however collect a pair of HPA Awards. On the strength of Alfonso Cuaron’s space-set adventure, Technicolor colorist Steve Scott won the feature color grading category; and the sound mixing and editing team won the trophy for best sound.

See more Highly Paid Film Stars    

The eligibility period for the HPA Awards runs from September to September, which is why some of last year's Oscar winners and nominees competed against this year's hopefuls.

Rounding out the feature competition, Christopher Rouse won the HPA award for feature editing for Captain Phillips.

In the television categories, Skip MacDonald won the HPA award for editing the finale of Breaking Bad, and the Game of Thrones VFX team repeated its 2013 win. Modern VideoFilm’s colorist David Cole won the TV color grading award for the pilot of Reign, and Toy Story of Terror topped the sound field.

See more Hollywood's 100 Favorite Films               

Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented editors Alan Heim, who won an Oscar for All the Jazz; and Randy Roberts, whose TV credits include his Emmy nominated work on Chicago Hope. The pair were recognized both for the body of work and contributions to the industry. Heim currently serves as president of American Cinema Editors and the Motion Picture Editors Guild. Roberts is past president of ACE, and has served on its board for more than two decades.

Also during the evening, the American Society of Cinematographers Color Decision List (ASC CDL)—developed by the ASC Technology Committee DI subcommittee with contributions from a broad group of industry participants—received the HPA Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation in Postproduction.

DigitalFilm Tree additionally received a Creativity and Innovation Award, for its cloud post workflow initiative, which takes advantage of OpenStack open source cloud computing software.

HPA Engineering Excellence Awards were presented to Macom, for its 12G-SDI chipset; Nvidia, for its Visual Computing Appliance; and Wohler and Cinnafilm, for their Tachyon Wormhole file-based retiming and transcoding system.

The winners of the 2014 HPA Awards are:


Outstanding Color Grading – Feature Film


Steven J. Scott // Technicolor


Outstanding Color Grading – Television

“Reign – Pilot”

David Cole // Modern VideoFilm


Outstanding Color Grading – Commercial   

Doosan “Heavy Industries”

Siggy Ferstl // Company 3                 


Outstanding Editing – Feature Film

"Captain Phillips"

Christopher Rouse, ACE


Outstanding Editing – Television

"Breaking Bad – Felina"
Skip Macdonald, ACE


Outstanding Editing – Commercial

Nissan Juke “Trigger”                                                     

Doobie White // Therapy Studios


Outstanding Sound – Feature Film



Glenn Fremantle // Sound 24

Skip Lievsay // Warner Bros. Sound

Christopher Benstead and Niv Adiri // Warner Bros. De Lane Lea


Outstanding Sound – Television

“Toy Story OF TERROR!”

Axel Geddes // Pixar Animation Studios

Tom Myers, Gary Summers, Michael Silvers and Dustin Cawood // Skywalker Sound


Outstanding Sound – Commercial 

Honda Europe “Inner Beauty”

Anthony Moore and Tom Joyce // Factory


Outstanding Visual Effects – Feature Film

“Dawn of the Planet of the Apes”

Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Erik Winquist, Keith Miller and Paul Story // Weta Digital


Outstanding Visual Effects – Television

“Game of Thrones – The Children”

Joe Bauer // Fire and Blood Productions

 Sven Martin // Pixomondo

Jörn Grosshans // Mackevision

Thomas Schelesny // Scanline VFX

 Matthew Rouleau // Rodeo FX


Outstanding Visual Effects – Commercial

GE “Childlike Imagination”

Benjamin Walsh, Dominik Bauch and Brian Burke // Method Studios


Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation

American Society of Cinematographers –ASC CDL

DigitalFilmTree - Cloud Workflow initiative


Engineering Excellence Awards

Macom - 12G-SDI chipset

Nvidia - Visual Computing Appliance

Wohler and Cinnafilm - Tachyon Wormhole file-based retiming and transcoding system