Donald O. Mitchell to Be Honored by Editors Guild

The rerecording mixer will receive MPEG's Fellowship and Service Award.
Courtesy of Subject
Donald O. Mitchell

Sound rerecording mixer Donald O. Mitchell will receive the Motion Picture Editors Guild’s Fellowship and Service Award on Oct. 5 during a dinner and ceremony at the Sheraton Universal Hotel.

The award recognizes an individual for "professionalism, collaboration, mentorship, generosity of spirit and a commitment to the labor movement."

Mitchell won an Academy Award for best sound for his work on Edward Zwick’s Glory and was nominated 13 additional times for films including The Paper Chase, Raging Bull, Top Gun and The Fugitive. His work on The Fugitive also earned him a BAFTA and Cinema Audio Society Award.

PHOTOS: Academy Awards 2013: The Winners

As a rerecording mixer, Mitchell was a member of IATSE Local 695, the sound technicians local. In 1998, less than a year before his retirement, postproduction mixers in 695 were brought into the Editors Guild. An active member of the AMPAS Sound Branch Executive Committee for a number of years, Mitchell served three terms on its board of governors.

"By his example he has inspired present and future sound personnel, contributing a legacy to our craft that will last well into the future," said MPEG board president John Trask.

Previous recipients of the Fellowship and Service Award include Donn Cambern, Dede Allen, Thomas C. Short, Carol Littleton and Don Hall.