FIFA Takes Top Honors at IBC Innovation Awards

Thomas Mueller FIFA World Cup Portugal Germany - H 2014
AP Images

Thomas Mueller FIFA World Cup Portugal Germany - H 2014

The global coverage of the recent FIFA World Cup in Brazil received the judges prize, the top honor, at the International Broadcasting Convention's annual Innovation Awards, which were handed out Sunday at the IBC convention in Amsterdam.

The international awards program honors innovation and collaboration in content creation, content management and content delivery. The honorees are selected by an international jury (disclosure: The Hollywood Reporter's Carolyn Giardina was a member of the jury).

The judges prize went to FIFA TV, the broadcast arm of FIFA, and its technology partners, for World Cup coverage that includes some use of 4K, 8K, 360-degree photography, as well as extensive web content. Technology partners included TV Globo, NHK, Dolby, EVS, Fraunhofer Heinrich Heitz Institute, Telegenic, Deltratre, Eutelsat, Eurovsion EBU, Netco Sports, Boxframe, Fujinon and Sony. 

FIFA TV was additionally presented with IBC's International Honor for Excellence for its 84 years of World Cup coverage. This is a special award whose part recipients have included James Cameron, Jeffrey Katzenberg and Peter Jackson.

The 2013/14 season of Monday Night Football on Sky Sports received the award for content creation on the strength of its new vista display as a set backdrop, incorporating virtual sets and improved analysis using touchscreen telestrators. To achieve this new look, Sky Sports worked with two broadcast graphics partners who are normally competitors: ChyronHego and Vizrt.

Project Skynet at Sky News Arabia won the category for content management. The award was accepted with technology partners Blackmagic, Haivision, Nevion, Vizrt and Zixi.

Turners Sports'  NAB League Pass broadband service won the prize for content delivery. This award honored Turner and its partners Adobe, Akamai, DNF Controls, Elemental, FreeWheel Media and Harmonic.

A special award was additionally presented to the Vienna State Opera for its online opera service.

Twitter: @CGinLA