Gale Anne Hurd Among Newly-Named AMPAS SciTech Council Members

Cinematographer John Bailey, VFX supervisor John Knoll and editor Michael Tronick have also joined the Council
AP Images
Gale Ann Hurd

Producer Gale Anne Hurd, cinematographer John Bailey, visual effects supervisor John Knoll and editor Michael Tronick have joined the Science and Technology Council of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

This brings the 2014–2015 Council to 25 members. It's co-chaired by Craig Barron, an Oscar-winning VFX supervisor and former Academy governor; and Paul Debevec, chief visual officer at the USC Institute for Creative Technologies.

Hurd's credits include Aliens, The Terminator, The Abyss, and TV series The Walking Dead. She is CEO of her Valhalla Motion Pictures.

Read more VFX Legend Douglas Trumbull's Plan to Save the Movies

Bailey’s credits include American Gigolo, Ordinary People, The Accidental Tourist and As Good as It Gets. He currently serves as vp of the Academy Board of Governors.

Knoll is chief creative officer at Industrial Light & Magic, co-creator of Photoshop, and serves as an Academy governor. He won an Oscar for Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest and has earned a total of five nominations.

Also an Academy governor, Tronick holds credits including Midnight Run, Scent of a Woman, Mr. and Mrs. Smith and Hairspray.

The Council’s 19 other members are Wendy Aylsworth, Rob Bredow, Lisa Churgin, Elizabeth Cohen, Academy governor Richard Edlund, Doug Greenfield, Don Hall, John Hora, Jim Houston, Rob Hummel, Randal Kleiser, Bev Pasterczyk, Joshua Pines, Rick Sayre, Milt Shefter, Dave Stump, Steve Sullivan, Academy governor Bill Taylor and Beverly Wood.