ICG Emerging Cinematographer Awards Celebrates "New Golden Age"

ICG ECA Awards - H 2014
Craig T. Mathew

ICG ECA Awards - H 2014

Hollywood is “entering a new golden age of cinematography,” declared International Cinematographers Guild president and director of photography Steven Poster as he kicked off the 18th annual Emerging Cinematographer Awards ceremony Sunday at the DGA Theater.

And during his welcome, he emphasized that he continues to use the word “filmmaking. ... I didn’t say movimaking, because we do honor our past.”

Stefanie Powers, the event’s guest speaker, also honored the past in her address. Recalling when she first started to learn about the different departments on a production, the Hart to Hart actress said it was clear to her that “the one person who would truly see my performance was the camera operator.”

Remembering films such as 2001: A Space Odyssey, she reflected on the inventive use of in-camera effects and the “imagination of the camera operator who sees the world through a lens to tell a story that can't get told any other way. It’s important to learn from the past.”

The Emerging Cinematographer Awards competition is open to any member of the guild who is not already classified as director of photography and who has submitted a short film that showcases their work. Eight awards and two honorable mentions were presented this year, and all 10 shorts were screened during the ceremony.

The honorees were Frank Buono, camera operator, for 1982; Devin Doyle, 1st AC, for Lancaster Stomp; George Feucht, camera operator, for Une Libération; Sidarth Kantamneni, camera operator, for Saerto Ena; Kyle Klütz, 1st AC, for Sequence (he was also recognized in 2013); David Kruta, digital imaging technician, for Wallace; Bartosz Nalazek, preview system, for Making a Scene: Forest Whitaker; and Greta Zozula, camera assistant, for The Immaculate Reception.

Chris Heinrich, 1st AC (Sure Thing) and David Jean Schweitzer, camera operator (Good Luck, Mr. Gorski) received honorable mentions.

ICG will hold an additional screening of the shorts on Oct. 26 in New York.

Four special awards were additionally presented on Friday during an ECA opening luncheon at the American Society of Cinematographers Clubhouse.

Director of photography Michael Goi (American Horror Story, Glee) received the Kodak Cinematography Mentor of the Year award; director of photography John Bailey (Groundhog Day, As Good as It Get), was presented the Technicolor Award for journalistic contributions to cinematography; and professor Judy Irola, the Conrad Hall Chair of Cinematography at USC’s School of Cinematic Arts, earned the Nat Tiffen Award for excellence in cinematography education. The Canon Award for excellence in cinematography technology will be presented to Codex, maker of on-set recorders that are widely used in feature production.

Email: Carolyn.Giardina@THR.com
Twitter: @CGinLA