ICG Presents Ten Emerging Cinematographer Awards

Guest speaker Richard Kelly describes "foundational relationship" between the director and cinematographer.
Courtesy of Mathew Imaging
From left: Wilkins, Ihrt, Jones, Hutchins, Hertzog, Veleta, Fisher, Irwin and Hunt. Not pictured: Silva

The International Cinematographers Guild honored 10 of its members with Emerging Cinematographer Awards during its 20th annual event, Sunday at the DGA Theater Complex in Los Angeles.

“The Emerging Cinematographer Awards have developed across two decades into one of the Guild’s premiere events,” said ICG president Steven Poster, who recalled the history of the program.

Director Richard Kelly, whose features including Donnie Darko were lensed by Poster, was the ceremony's guest speaker. “A director is no one without a great cinematographer standing right next to him," Kelly told the honorees. "He or she is your partner through the process. It’s perhaps the biggest foundational relationship in making a film."

The ECA honorees and their selected shorts were Derek C. Fisher (loader) for Use Your Oui Oui; Dan Hertzog (2nd assistant), Earthbound; Eric M. Hurt (operator), Elemental; Spencer Cole Hutchins (operator), Walker; Alexa Ihrt (operator), Born In Battle; Matt Irwin (operator), Emeralds; Clifford Jones (digital imaging technician), In Memory; Karina Silva (operator), Doble 9; John Veleta (digital imaging technician), Pop Music; and Alejandro A. Wilkins (operator), Limbo.

During Sunday’s ceremony, ICG premiered its 2016 ECA reel with all 10 shorts. This reel will also screen in Atlanta, Chicago, New York and at Camerimage, which begins Nov. 12 in Bydgoszcz, Poland.

Three special awards were presented on Friday, in conjunction with the ECA festivities. Oscar-nominated cinematographer Rodrigo Prieto (Brokeback Mountain, Passengers) received the Kodak Award for mentorship. ICG Magazine executive editor David Geffner was presented the Technicolor William A. Fraker Award for cinematography journalism. And Dolby received the Canon Award for advancement in digital technology.

Guests during the ceremony included Richard and Elizabeth Jones, the parent of Sarah Jones, the camera assistant who was killed in 2014 when she was struck by a train in Georgia while filming Midnight Rider. The couple received a heartfelt standing ovation.