'The Jungle Book' Claims VFX Trophy at HPA Awards

The Jungle Book Still 7 - H 2016
Courtesy of Disney

The Jungle Book Still 7 - H 2016

Visual effects Oscar contender Disney's The Jungle Book won the feature VFX competition at the 11th annual Hollywood Professional Association Awards for postproduction, which was held Thursday night at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles.

The award was presented to the Jungle Book VFX team of Robert Legato, Andrew R. Jones, Adam Valdez and Charley Henley (of MPC) and Keith Miller (of Weta Digital).

Game of Thrones led the television competition, winning in the categories for editing and visual effects.

Meanwhile, Steve J. Scott of Technicolor won his seventh HPA trophy in the feature film color grading category on the strength of his work on The Revenant. He also was nominated this year for Jungle Book.

As the eligibility period ran from September 2015 to September 2016, some notable movies from last year also were in the mix.

In all, awards in 12 categories were presented for color grading, editing, sound and visual effects, in addition to honors for Engineering Excellence and a Judges' Award for Creativity and Innovation.

In addition, editor and tech innovator Herb Dow was presented the HPA Lifetime Achievement Award and Aspera founder and CEO Michelle Munson was given the Charles S. Swartz Award.

The complete list of winners follows:

Outstanding Color Grading – Feature Film

WINNER: The Revenant
Steven J. Scott // Technicolor Production Services

John Dowdell // Goldcrest Post Productions Ltd

Asa Shoul // Molinare

The Martian
Stephen Nakamura // Company 3

The Jungle Book
Steven J. Scott // Technicolor Production Services

Outstanding Color Grading – Television

WINNER: Gotham - "By Fire"
Paul Westerbeck // Encore Hollywood

Vinyl - "E.A.B"
Steven Bodner // Deluxe/Encore NY

Fargo - "The Myth of Sisyphus"
Mark Kueper // Technicolor

Outlander – "Faith"
Steven Porter // MTI Film

Show Me a Hero - "Part 1"
Sam Daley // Technicolor PostWorks NY

Outstanding Color Grading – Commercial  

WINNER: Hennessy - "Odyssey"
Tom Poole // Company 3

Fallout 4 - "The Wanderer"
Siggy Ferstl // Company 3

Toyota Prius - "Poncho"
Sofie Borup // Company 3

NASCAR - "Team"
Lez Rudge // Nice Shoes

Audi R8 - "Commander"
Stefan Sonnenfeld // Company 3

Apple Music - “History of Sound”
Gregory Reese // The Mill

Pennzoil "Joyride Circuit"
Dave Hussey // Company 3

Outstanding Editing – Feature Film   

WINNER: The Big Short
Hank Corwin (ACE)

The Martian
Pietro Scalia (ACE)

The Revenant
Stephen Mirrione (ACE)

Joe Walker (ACE)

Tom McArdle (ACE)

Outstanding Editing – Television (TIE)


Roots - "Night One"
Martin Nicholson (ACE), Greg Babor

Game of Thrones - "Battle of the Bastards"
Tim Porter (ACE)

Body Team 12
David Darg // RYOT Films

Underground - "The Macon 7"
Zack Arnold, Ian Tan // Sony Pictures Television

Vinyl - "Pilot"
David Tedeschi

Outstanding Editing – Commercial

WINNER: Wilson - "Nothing Without It"
Doobie White // Therapy Studios

Nespresso - “Training Day”
Chris Franklin // Big Sky Edit

Saucony - "Be a Seeker"
Lenny Mesina // Therapy Studios

Samsung - "Teresa"
Kristin McCasey // Therapy Studios

Outstanding Sound – Feature Film

WINNER: Sicario
Alan Murray, Tom Ozanich, John Reitz // Warner Bros. Post Production Services

Steve Fanagan, Niall Brady, Ken Galvin // Ardmore Sound

Eye in the Sky
Craig Mann, Adam Jenkins, Bill R. Dean, Chase Keehn // Technicolor Creative Services

Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice
Scott Hecker // Formosa Group
Chris Jenkins, Michael Keller // Warner Bros. Post Production Services

David Fluhr (CAS), Gabriel Guy (CAS), Addison Teague // Walt Disney Company

Outstanding Sound – Television

WINNER: Outlander – "Prestonpans”
Nello Torri, Alan Decker, Brian Milliken, Vince Balunas // NBCUniversal Post Sound

Game of Thrones – "Battle of the Bastards”
Tim Kimmel (MPSE), Paula Fairfield, Mathew Waters (CAS), Onnalee Blank (CAS), Bradley C. Katona, Paul Bercovitch // Formosa Group

Preacher - "See"
Richard Yawn, Mark Linden, Tara Paul // Sony Sound

Marco Polo – "One Hundred Eyes"
David Paterson, Roberto Fernandez, Alexa Zimmerman, Glenfield Payne, Rachel Chancey // Harbor Picture Company

House of Cards - "Chapter 45"
Jeremy Molod, Ren Klyce, Nathan Nance, Scott R. Lewis, Jonathan Stevens // Skywalker Sound

Outstanding Sound – Commercial 

WINNER Sainsbury's - “Mog's Christmas Calamity”
Anthony Moore, Neil Johnson // Factory

Save the Children UK - “Still The Most Shocking Second A Day”
Jon Clarke // Factory

Wilson - "Nothing Without It"
Doobie White // Therapy Studios

Honda - “Paper”
Phil Bolland // Factory

Honda - “Ignition”
Anthony Moore // Factory

Outstanding Visual Effects – Feature Film

WINNER: The Jungle Book
Robert Legato, Andrew R. Jones
Adam Valdez, Charley Henley // MPC
Keith Miller // Weta Digital

Star Wars: The Force Awakens
Jay Cooper, Yanick Dusseault, Rick Hankins, Carlos Munoz, Polly Ing // Industrial Light & Magic

Captain America: Civil War
Russell Earl, Steve Rawlins, Francois Lambert, Pat Conran, Rhys Claringbull // Industrial Light & Magic

The Martian
Chris Lawrence, Neil Weatherley, Bronwyn Edwards, Dale Newton // Framestore

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows
Pablo Helman, Robert Weaver, Kevin Martel, Shawn Kelly, Nelson Sepulveda // Industrial Light & Magic

Outstanding Visual Effects – Television

WINNER: Game of Thrones – "Battle of the Bastards”
Joe Bauer // Fire & Blood Productions
Eric Carney // The Third Floor
Derek Spears // Rhythm & Hues Studios
Glenn Melenhorst // Iloura
Matthew Rouleau // Rodeo FX

Supergirl – "Pilot”
Armen V. Kevorkian, Andranik Taranyan, Gevork Babityan, Elaina Scott, Art Sayan // Encore VFX

Ripper Street – "The Strangers' Home”
Ed Bruce, Nicholas Murphy, Denny Cahill, John O’Connell // Screen Scene

Black Sails – "XXI"
Erik Henry // Starz
Matt Dougan // Digital Domain
Martin Ogren, Jens Tenland, Nicklas Andersson // ILP

The Flash – "Gorilla Warfare”
Armen V. Kevorkian, Thomas J. Conners, Andranik Taranyan, Gevork Babityan, Jason Shulman // Encore VFX

Outstanding Visual Effects – Commercial

WINNER: Microsoft Xbox - “Halo 5: The Hunt Begins”
Ben Walsh, Ian Holland, Brian Delmonico, Brian Burke // Method Studios

Sainsbury's “Mog's Christmas Calamity”
Ben Cronin, Grant Walker, Rafael Camacho // Framestore

AT&T - “Power of &”
James Dick, Corrina Wilson, Euna Kho, Callum McKeveny // Framestore

Kohler - "Never Too Next"
Andy Boyd, Jake Montgomery, Zachary DiMaria, David Hernandez // JAMM

Gatorade - "Sports Fuel"
JD Yepes, Richard Shallcross // Framestore

Engineering Excellence Awards:
Aspera: FASPStream
Grass Valley: GV Node Real Time IP Processing and Edge Routing Platform
RealD: Ultimate Screen
SGO: Mistika

Honorable mentions:
Grass Valley: LDX 86N Native 4K Series Camera
Canon USA: 4K / UHD / 2K / HD display

Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation: