Kathryn Bigelow to Be Honored by Sound Editors Association

The Oscar-winning director will receive the Motion Picture Sound Editors Filmmaker Award.
Courtesy of Strategy PR

Kathryn Bigelow will be presented the Motion Picture Sound Editors Filmmaker Award during the MPSE Golden Reel Awards on Feb. 18 at the Westin Bonaventure in Los Angeles.

The trailblazing filmmaker is the only woman to win an Academy Award for best director, which she received in 2010 for The Hurt Locker. The Iraq War drama won six Oscars in total, including best picture, sound mixing and sound editing.

Her films also include Point Break (1991), Zero Dark Thirty and, most recently, Detroit, an unsettling portrait of the race riots that gripped that city in 1967.

“Kathryn Bigelow’s films have that rare quality of challenging our preconceptions by moving us and creating moments of powerful empathy,” said MPSE president Tom McCarthy. “She is a true artist. We are extremely proud to recognize her tireless contributions to our industry and culture with our Filmmaker Award.”

Said Bigelow in a released statement: “Collaboration with the sound editor is a gratifying and inspiring time in the post process. It is the moment that the film wraps itself around you, revealing its final form. I am honored to receive this award from my colleagues in sound editing.”

Past recipients of the MPSE Filmmaker Award include Guillermo del Toro, Ang Lee, Steven Spielberg, Clint Eastwood and Gale Anne Hurd.