'La La Land' Camera Operator Tops SOC Awards

Playbook costume design -Ryan Gosling Emma Stone  -LA LA LAND - H 2017

La La Land camera operator Ari Robbins won the feature film camera operator of the year award on Saturday at the Society of Camera Operators Awards at Loews Hollywood Hotel.

He topped a field of nominees that included Stephen Campanelli for Sully, David Emmerichs for Nocturnal Animals, Mark Goellnicht for Hacksaw Ridge, Petr Hlinomaz for Manchester by the Sea and Jacques Jouffret for Deepwater Horizon.

The television camera operator of the year award was presented to Andrew Mitchell for The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story. The TV nominees also included Ben Semanoff and Bruce MacCallum for The Night Of, Steven Matzinger and Greg Smith for Westworld, Bob Gorelick for Stranger Things, Aaron Medick for Mr. Robot and Sean Savage for Game of Thrones.

Also during the evening, Michael Keaton was honored with the Governors Award, and Steadicam inventor Garrett Brown, who has operated Steadicam on films including The Shining, received the Camera Operator Lifetime Achievement Award.

Lifetime Achievement Awards were also presented to: Mike Moad (Flags of Our Fathers, Super 8), for a mobile camera platform operator; Bobby Mancuso (Goodfellas, The Wolf of Wall Street), for a camera technician; and Phil Caruso (Forrest Gump, Twelve Monkeys), for a still photographer.

Additionally, the makers of the Shotover K1 6-axis stabilizer and That Cat's Silent Cat camera slider received Technical Achievement Awards.