Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Guild Names Lifetime Achievement Honorees

Barbara Lorenz and Leonard Engelman-Publicity-H 2016
Courtesy of Lifetime

Emmy-nominated makeup artist Leonard Engelman and Oscar- and Emmy-nominated hairstylist Barbara Lorenz will receive Lifetime Achievement Awards at the annual Make-Up Artists and Hair Stylists Guild Awards, Feb. 19 at The Novo by Microsoft at L.A. Live.

With more than 50 years in the business, Engelman has a credit list that includes Batman & Robin, Ghostbusters, How the Grinch Stole Christmas, Sleepless in Seattle and Alfred Hitchcock’s Topaz. He has also been Cher’s personal makeup artist for more than 30 years. Their credits together include Moonstruck, Mermaids and The Witches of Eastwick.

He received Emmy nominations in 1972 and 2000 for his work on NBC anthology series Night Gallery and CBS TV movie Jackie Bouvier Kennedy Onassis, respectively.

Engelman is the first governor of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch (on which he currently serves) and chairman of the Academy’s Executive Committee for 27 years. He was also an IATSE Local 706 business representative and executive board member as well as the director of education emeritus at the Cinema Makeup School.

Lorenz — who has worked with celebrities such as Halle Berry, Nicole Kidman, Jamie Lee Curtis, Kate Hudson and Meg Ryan — has more than 100 feature credits, including La La Land, Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, X-Men: The Last Stand, Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World, Charlie's Angels, Batman Returns, Batman Forever and When Harry Met Sally.

She earned an Academy Award nomination in 2003 for The Time Machine and an Emmy nomination in 2005 for ABC TV movie Their Eyes Were Watching God. She got her start in television, working on the Mary Tyler Moore Show, Rhoda and The Bob Newhart Show.

Lorenz also served on the executive board of IATSE Local 706.

“Leonard Engelman and Barbara Lorenz are extraordinary artists and accomplished leaders in the industry, and it is our pleasure to name them as this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award recipients,” said IATSE Local 706 president Sue Cabral-Ebert.

As previously announced, Ryan Murphy will be honored with the Distinguished Artisan Award during the ceremony.