Oscars: 'Star Wars' Advances In Visual Effects Competition

Star Wars the Force Awakens 2 - H 2015

Twenty films will advance in the visual effects category voting process for the 88th Academy Awards, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced Monday. That includes the work that resulted in the dinosaurs of Jurassic World, the World Trade Center in The Walk and a galaxy far, far away in the upcoming Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

The 20 films are:

“Avengers: Age of Ultron”
“Bridge of Spies”
“Ex Machina”
“Furious Seven”
“The Hunger Games: Mockingjay — Part 2”
“In the Heart of the Sea”
“Jupiter Ascending”
“Jurassic World”
“Mad Max: Fury Road”
“The Martian”
“Mission: Impossible — Rogue Nation”
“The Revenant”
“Star Wars: The Force Awakens”
“Terminator Genisys”
“The Walk”