'Phantom Thread,' Sans DP, Among Society of Camera Operators Feature Nominees

Phantom Thread Still - Publicity - H 2017
Courtesy of Laurie Sparham/Focus Features

The Society of Camera Operators has revealed its camera operator of the year award nominees in features: Colin Anderson for Phantom Thread; Roberto De Angelis for Baby Driver; Stephen Campanelli for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri; Gilles Corbeil for The Shape of Water; and Mitch Dubin for The Post.

Camera/Steadicam operator Anderson's nomination for Paul Thomas Anderson's period drama Phantom Thread is notable in that the film doesn't have a credited director of photography. It's been described as more of a collaboration.

In the SOC's other competitive category, camera operator of the year in television, the nominees are Bob Gorelick for Stranger Things; Daryl Hartwell for Fargo; Gary Jay for House of Cards; Brian Osmond for Mindhunter; and Ben Semanoff for Ozark.

The SOC Awards will be handed out Feb. 3 at the Loews Hollywood Hotel.