'The Revenant,' 'Scandal' Camera Operators Receive SOC Honors

The Revenant Tom Hardy Still - H 2016
Courtesy of Twentieth Century Fox

The Revenant

Camera Operator of the Year Awards were presented Saturday to P. Scott Sakamoto for The Revenant and Steve Fracol for Scandal, in the feature and television categories, respectively, at the Society of Camera Operators Awards at Paramount Studios in Los Angeles.

Lifetime Achievement Awards also were given to camera operator Stephen Campanelli, camera technician Gregory Irwin, mobile camera platform operator Jack Glenn and still photographer Murray Close.

Gary Lucchesi, president of Lakeshore Entertainment and co-president of the Producers Guild of America, received the Governors Award.

Steven Manios Sr., former owner and president of Century Precision Optics, was given the Distinguished Service Award, and Bruce Doering, recently retired national executive director of the International Cinematographers Guild, was honored with the President Award.

Cartoni’s Lambda Head also received a technical achievement award during the ceremony.