Roger Deakins Tops ASC Cinematographers Awards with '1917' Win

1917 Cinematography - Roger Deakins - Publicity - H 2019
Francois Duhamel/Universal Pictures

Roger Deakins' lensing of Sam Mendes' WWI drama 1917, which appears as an uninterrupted take, on Saturday topped the feature film category of the 34th American Society of Cinematographers Awards, which were held in the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

It is the fifth ASC feature film category win for Deakins, a record that he now shares with Emmanuel "Chivo" Lubezki. Deakins previously won the award for The Shawshank Redemption (1994), The Man Who Wasn’t There (2001), Skyfall (2012) and Blade Runner 2049 (2017).

Also on Saturday, the ASC Spotlight Award, which was first handed out in 2014 and recognizes features that are screened at festivals, internationally or in limited theatrical release, was awarded to Jarin Blaschke for his black-and-white lensing of Robert Eggers' The Lighthouse.

Deakins, Blaschke and three additional ASC feature category nominees — Rodrigo Prieto for Martin Scorsese's crime film The Irishman, Robert Richardson for Quentin Tarantino's 1969-set Once Upon a Time in Hollywood and Lawrence Sher for Todd Phillips' psychological thriller Joker — are nominated in the cinematography category of the upcoming Academy Awards. In five of the last 10 years, the winner of the ASC feature competition went on to win the best cinematography Oscar. That included in 2017, when Deakins won both awards for Blade Runner 2049. 

Elsewhere on the evening, Honeyland cinematographers Fejmi Daut and Samir Ljuma received the inaugural ASC Documentary Award, while TV winners included Colin Watkinson for The Handmaid's Tale, C. Kim Miles for Project Blue Book and John Conroy for The Terror: Infamy.

Veteran cinematographer Frederick Elmes, known for work including David Lynch's Blue Velvet, was presented the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award; Donald Morgan was given the Career Achievement in Television Award; Werner Herzog received the Board of Governors Award; Bruno Delbonnel took home the International Award; and Don McCuaig accepted the Presidents Award.

The complete list of winners follows.

Theatrical Release

Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for 1917 (WINNER)
Phedon Papamichael, ASC, GSC for Ford v Ferrari
Rodrigo Prieto, ASC, AMC for The Irishman
Robert Richardson, ASC for Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Lawrence Sher, ASC for Joker

Spotlight Award

Jarin Blaschke for The Lighthouse (WINNER)
Natasha Braier, ASC, ADF for Honey Boy
Jasper Wolf, NSC for Monos


Fejmi Daut and Samir Ljuma – Honeyland (WINNER)
Nicholas de Pencier – Anthropocene: The Human Epoch
Evangelia Kranioti – Obscuro Barroco

Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television

David Luther – Das Boot, “Gegen die Zeit” (Episode 6) (Sky)
M. David Mullen, ASC – The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “Simone” (Amazon)
Chris Seager, BSC – Carnival Row, “Grieve No More” (Amazon)
Brendan Steacy, CSC – Titans, “Dick Grayson” (DC Universe)
Colin Watkinson, ASC, BSC – The Handmaid’s Tale, “Night” (Hulu) (WINNER)

Episode of a Series for Commercial Television

Dana Gonzales, ASC – Legion, “Chapter 20” (FX)
C. Kim Miles, CSC, MySC – Project Blue Book, “The Flatwoods Monster” (History) (WINNER)
Polly Morgan, ASC, BSC – Legion, “Chapter 23” (FX)
Peter Robertson, ISC – Vikings, “Hell” (History)
David Stockton, ASC – Gotham, “Ace Chemicals” (Fox)

Motion Picture, Miniseries or Pilot Made for Television

John Conroy, ISC – The Terror: Infamy, “A Sparrow in a Swallow’s Nest” (AMC) (WINNER)
P.J. Dillon, ISC – The Rook, “Chapter 1” (Starz)
Chris Manley, ASC – Doom Patrol, pilot (DC Universe)
Martin Ruhe, ASC – Catch-22, “Episode 5” (Hulu)
Craig Wrobleski, CSC – The Twilight Zone, “Blurryman” (CBS All Access)