'Roger Rabbit' Cinematographer Dean Cundey to Receive ASC Lifetime Achievement Award

The American Society of Cinematographers also will honor Eduardo Serra and Richard Rawlings at its 2014 Outstanding Achievement Awards.
Courtesy of Fujifilm
Dean Cundey

Cinematographer Dean Cundey, who earned an Oscar nomination for Robert ZemeckisWho Framed Roger Rabbit?, will receive the American Society of Cinematographers' Lifetime Achievement Award during the 28th annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards, which takes place on Feb. 1, 2014, at the Hollywood & Highland Ray Dolby Ballroom.

Also that evening, Eduardo Serra will be presented with the International Achievement Award, and Richard Rawlings Jr. will be honored with the society’s Career Achievement in Television Award.

Cundey’s credits also include Zemeckis’ Back to the Future trilogy, Romancing the Stone and Death Becomes Her; Steven Spielberg’s Jurassic Park and Hook; Ron Howard’s Apollo 13; and upcoming releases Walking With the Enemy and Carry Me Home.

STORY: Cinematographer Dean Cundey Will Join Fujifilm to Debut Its New Color Management Tool

Serra earned his first Academy Award nomination for Iain Softley’s The Wings of the Dove, which also netted him a BAFTA Award. His credits include Girl With a Pearl Earring, Jude, Map of the Human Heart, What Dreams May Come, Funny Bones and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 and Part 2.

A multiple Emmy and ASC Award nominee, Rawlings’ credits include L.A. Law, Boston Public, Gilmore Girls, Desperate Housewives, Ohara, Paradise, Reasonable Doubts and the television movie Big Dreams & Broken Hearts: The Dottie West Story.

E-mail: Carolyn.Giardina@THR.com
Twitter: @CGinLA