Ryan Murphy to Be Honored by Make-Up Artists and Hair Stylists Guild

Ryan Murphy - Getty - H 2016
Getty Images

Ryan Murphy - Getty - H 2016

Ryan Murphy will receive the Distinguished Artisan Award at the annual Make-Up Artists and Hair Stylists Guild Awards, to be held Feb. 19 at The Novo by Microsoft at L.A. Live.

“We’re excited to bestow our 2017 Distinguished Artisan Award on Ryan Murphy, who constantly raises the bar and challenges the skills of our members to their utmost abilities when delineating his television characters," Susan Cabral-Ebert, president of IATSE Local 706, said Thursday in a statement. "He has always shown strong support while working in collaboration with our make-up artists and hair stylists.”

The four-time Emmy-winning producer, director and screenwriter is the originator of such series as American Horror Story, Glee, Nip/Tuck and The New Normal. His credits also include the hit The People vs. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story.

Nominations for the annual awards will be announced Jan. 11.