Ryan Murphy to Be Honored by Art Directors Guild

Ryan Murphy
JB Lacroix/Getty Images

Ryan Murphy

Ryan Murphy will receive the Art Directors Guild's Cinematic Imagery Award at the 25th ADG Awards, which will be handed out on April 10 during a virtual presentation.

The multi-hyphenate and six-time Emmy winner is the originator of programs including American Horror Story, American Crime Story, Pose, Hollywood, Feud, Glee, and The New Normal. Most recently, he helmed the feature adaptation of the Broadway musical The Prom.

“Ryan Murphy is a visionary whose impact spans a wide spectrum of film, television, and streaming projects, all the while creating memorable, visual storytelling experiences as one of Hollywood’s most prolific and successful writers-directors-producers," said ADG president Nelson Coates in a released statement. "His imagination and consistent emphasis on high production values have fostered the creation of worlds that will have a lasting impact on the visual lexicon of entertainment for years to come."

In 2016, Murphy’s first installment of American Crime Story, The People v. O.J. Simpson, won 10 Emmys, including outstanding limited series. More recently, FX’s Pose was nominated for 13 Emmy awards and is recognized for featuring the largest transgender series regular cast and the largest LGBTQ cast ever for a scripted series.

Murphy's upcoming projects include Halston starring Ewan McGregor, and Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story, both for Netflix.