SMPTE to Be Honored at Primetime Emmy Engineering Awards

The Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers will receive the Philo. T. Farnsworth Award for its impact on TV technology and engineering during the Television Academy’s 66th Primetime Emmy Engineering Awards.

Additionally, the Television Academy announced on Tuesday that HD pioneer and industry veteran Laurence J. Thorpe will be this year's recipient of the Charles F. Jenkins Lifetime Achievement Award. Thorpe has held positions including head of HDTV market development at Sony and senior fellow at Canon. He's also published numerous papers on camera technology and the topic of HDTV while serving as an advisor to the Advanced Television Systems Committee, the FCC and SMPTE.

Founded in 1916, SMPTE is a global standards setting body and engineering society whose advancements include its trademark color bars and HD standards. Current work includes standards efforts surrounding Ultra HD, high dynamic range imagery and immersive sound.

Also during the ceremony, Engineering Emmy Awards will be presented to Philips, for its LDK6000 HD camera system; Sony, for its multiformat HDTV CCD fiber optic camera system; High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI); Intel, for High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection (HDCP); and the ATSC for its recommended practices on audio loudness for digital television.

This year, the Television Academy and NATAS will present the Engineering Emmy Awards from both organizations in a joint ceremony, Jan. 8 during CES at the Bellagio Hotel.

Twitter: @CGinLA