Sound Editors Elect Sony Pictures Studios’ Tom McCarthy as President

The organization is planning to expand its seminars and educational series.
Courtesy of RexUSA

The Motion Picture Sound Editors society has elected Tom McCarthy as its president. He succeeds Frank Morrone of Technicolor Sound.

McCarthy is an Academy Award- and BAFTA Award-winning sound supervisor (Dracula) who currently serves as executive vp postproduction facilities at Sony Pictures Studios.

Supervising sound editor Glenn T. Morgan was elected secretary of MPSE. He succeeds Chris Reeves. McCarthy and Morgan join continuing officers Mark Lanza, vice president; Paul Rodriguez, treasurer; and Jeremy J. Gordon, sergeant at arms.

"I want to encourage more members to become involved in MPSE activities, including running for board positions," said McCarthy. "I will also work to increase recognition for the art of entertainment sound, and the contributions sound editors make to motion pictures, television, games and other media."

Said outgoing president Morrone: "It was an honor to serve as president of the organization during such an exciting time for sound. Sound editors are employing their skills in new ways and in new mediums, and MPSE has supported them through our educational programs, industry outreach and annual Golden Reel awards competition."

MPSE is currently planning to expand its series of sound seminars and to create new educational opportunities for students and young professionals.

The organization also announced that it elected several candidates to board seats. Steve Urban, Steve Avila, Mike Draghi, Solange Schwalbe, Bernard Weiser and Mandell Winter were elected to the film board. Mark Jasper, William Dannevik and Reeves were elected to the television board. Charles Deenen was elected to the game cinematics board. Avila, Draghi, Schwalbe, Weiser, Winter, Dannevik, Reeves and Deenen were incumbents.