THR's Guide to the American Cinema Editors' Eddie Awards

Dunkirk Still 12 - Publicity - H 2017
Melinda Sue Gordon/Warner Bros. Pictures

American Cinema Editors presents its 68th annual Eddie Awards on Friday at the Beverly Hilton. Below is everything to know about the event. 

ACE presents two awards for live-action features: best edited dramatic feature and best edited comedy.

This year, the Eddie nominees for best edited dramatic feature are Dunkirk, The Shape of Water, Blade Runner 2049, Molly’s Game and The Post. For the best edited feature film, comedy, ACE nominated Baby Driver; Get Out; I, Tonya; Lady Bird and Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri.

All five Oscar nominees in film editing are also Eddie nominees.

They are Jonathan Amos and Paul Machliss for Baby Driver; Lee Smith for Dunkirk; Tatiana S. Riegel for I, Tonya; John Gregory for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri; and Sidney Wolinsky for The Shape of Water.

In 10 of the last 15 years, the winner of the best edited dramatic feature category went on to win the Oscar for film editing. In 2003, Chicago, the winner of the Eddie for best edited musical or comedy, won the Academy Award in the category.

The ACE best edited animated feature award may help predict the winner of the best animated feature Oscar.

The Eddie's best edited animated feature category was introduced in 2010. Since then, the film that won the Eddie has mirrored the recipient of the Oscar for best-animated feature all but once (in 2015, when The Lego Movie won the Eddie and Big Hero 6 grabbed the Oscar).

This year’s Eddies nominees for the best edited animated feature are Coco, Despicable Me 3 and The Lego Batman Movie. Only Coco is also nominated for the best animated feature Oscar.

There are two double nominees at this year's Eddies.

Will Znidaric could become a double winner. He is among the trio (along with Joe Beshenkovsky and director Brett Morgen) nominated for Jane in the feature documentary category, and he is nominated for best edited small screen documentary for Five Came Back: The Price of Victory. Meanwhile, Skip Macdonald is nominated twice in the best edited drama series in commercial TV category, for two different episodes of Better Call Saul: "Witness," shared with Kelley Dixon; and "Chicanery."

Special award recipients include Vince Gilligan, who will receive the Golden Eddie.

Additionally, career achievement awards will be presented to Oscar-nominated editor Mark Goldblatt, whose credits include The Terminator, Terminator 2 and Starship Troopers; and Leon Ortiz-Gil, whose TV credits include Law & Order, 24 and Battlestar Galactica.

Scheduled presenters include Blade Runner 2049 director Denis Villeneuve and Baby Driver director Edgar Wright.

They also include Gale Anne Hurd, Mariska Hargitay, Betty Gabriel, Sam Lerner, Parminder Nagra, Jordan Rodriguez and Marielle Scott, and ACE president Stephen Rivkin. Expected guests include Christopher Nolan, the Oscar-nominated director of Dunkirk, and I, Tonya helmer Craig Gillespie.

A complete list of nominees can be found here.