Francis Ford Coppola to Get Pen Center USA Lifetime Achievement Award

Graham Moore and Noah Hawley picked up screenwriting awards from the literary organization.
AP Images/Invision
Francis Ford Coppola

Francis Ford Coppola will be presented with the Pen Center Lifetime Achievement Award at its 25th annual literary awards on Nov. 16 at a ceremony at the Beverly Wilshire.

In addition to his well-known directing and producing achievements, Coppola has also won three writing Oscars — one for the original Patton screenplay and two in the adapted category for the Godfather and the Godfather Part II.

He is also the founder of Zoetrope: All Story, a space that has showcased new writers and playwrights for eighteen years.

Pen Center USA also announced its literary award winners. Graham Moore is being honored with a screenplay award for Imitation Game and Noah Hawley won the teleplay award for Fargo.

Here’s the complete list of winners: Meghan Daum (Creative Nonfiction Award for The Unspeakable); Victor Lodato (Drama Award for Arlington); Robert Thomas (Fiction Award for Bridge); G. Willow Wilson (Graphic Literature Innovator Award); Daniel Alarcón (Journalism Award for “The Contestant”); Claudia Rankine (Poetry Award for Citizen); McKenzie Funk (Research Nonfiction Award for Windfall); Graham Moore (Screenplay Award for The Imitation Game); Noah Hawley (Teleplay Award for Fargo “The Crocodile’s Dilemma”); Ainsley Morse and Peter Golub (Translation Award for Anatomical Theater); Jordana Moore Saggese (UC Press First Book Award for Reading Basquiat); and Leslye Walton (Young Adult/Children’s Award for The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender).