PEN Center USA Screenplay Award Nominees Revealed (Exclusive)

Oliver Stone GETTY H 2016

PEN Center USA has revealed the finalists for its screenplay award. For the first time in the 26-year history of its Literary Awards festival PEN Center announced a shortlist of screenplay finalists. The nominees are Oliver Stone and Kieran Fitzgerald for Snowden; Tom Ford for Nocturnal Animals; Damien Chazelle for La La Land; and Jeff Nichols for Loving.

The winner will be announced ahead of the Sept. 28 awards gala at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel that will be hosted by Amber Tamblyn and David Cross.

PEN Center USA also announced John Logan as the winner of its teleplay award for the Penny Dreadful episode “A Blade of Grass.”

Literary Award winners are: Sandra Cisneros with the Creative Nonfiction Award for A House of My Own; Larissa FastHorse with the Drama Award for Landless; Scott Blackwood with the Fiction Award for See How Small; Gene Luen Yang with the Graphic Literature Innovator Award; T. Christian Miller and Ken Armstrong with the Journalism Award for “An Unbelievable Story of Rape”; Carl Phillips for the Poetry Award for Reconnaissance; Jill Leovy the Research Nonfiction Award for Ghettoside; Stephen Kessler with the Translation Award for Forbidden Pleasures; and Bill Konigsberg with the Young Adult Award for The Porcupine of Truth.

Willow Bay and the USC Annenberg School of Journalism will receive the Award of Honor from best-selling author Jennifer Egan (A Visit from the Goon Squad), and Isabelle Allende is set to receive the lifetime achievement award.