- Share this article on Facebook
- Share this article on Twitter
- Share this article on Email
- Show additional share options
- Share this article on Print
- Share this article on Comment
- Share this article on Whatsapp
- Share this article on Linkedin
- Share this article on Reddit
- Share this article on Pinit
- Share this article on Tumblr
Next time election season rolls around, it’ll be easy to remove those politically charged posts from a Facebook News Feed.
The social networking giant has introduced a new feature called Snooze that will allow its users to temporarily unfollow other people, pages or groups for 30 days. That means that any posts from those accounts will not show up in the News Feed for that period of time.
“Seeing too many photos of your uncle’s new cat? Is your friend tempting you with endless photos of ramen on her Japan trip? It turns out, you’re not alone. We’ve heard from people that they want more options to determine what they see in News Feed and when they see it,” product manager Shruthi Muraleedharan wrote in a blog post.
Facebook won’t tell people when they’ve been “Snoozed,” and the setting can be reversed at any time.
Snooze is the latest in a series of News Feed controls that Facebook has introduced over the years. Its 2 billion users worldwide can also hide posts from certain people or prioritize posts from people so that they see them first in their feeds.
Sign up for THR news straight to your inbox every day