Destiny’s Child to Release First New Music In Eight Years

The trio that introduced Beyonce to the world is set to release a collection called "Love Songs," which will include a new Pharrell Williams-produced track.
Getty Images

On Thursday, Beyonce revealed on her website that the upcoming Destiny’s Child release, Love Songs, will include a new track. “I am so proud to announce the first original Destiny’s Child material in eight years,” the singer wrote.

PHOTOS: VH1 Divas 2012: Inside the Star-Studded Show

Although the album is not composed of recent material, Love Songs, a collection of the group’s “romantic gems” from 1997 to 2004, is set to feature a new track called “Nuclear.” The number was produced by Pharrell Williams, who co-wrote the track with James Fauntleroy, Lonny Bereal and Destiny’s Child member Michelle Williams, and features vocal production by Beyonce and Bereal. The 14-song collection will drop Jan. 29 via Sony Legacy.

This is the second compilation album to emerge recently from Destiny’s Child, who called it quits in 2005. The trio -- Beyonce, Williams and Kelly Rowland – released a best-of collection, Playlist --The Very Best of Destiny's Child, in October.

STORY: Beyonce, Kelly Clarkson to Perform at Inauguration

There is no indication that Destiny’s Child has any plans to reunite beyond this new track, however. Beyonce has confirmed that she is working on her fifth solo album, due out this spring. The singer told GQ in a recent cover story that she has “been working with Pharrell and Timbaland and Justin Timberlake and The-Dream.” Beyonce added, “We all started in the '90s, when R&B was the most important genre, and we all kind of want that back: the feeling that music gave us.” Williams, meanwhile, announced this week that she has joined the touring cast of Fela! for 2013.

Twitter: @THRMusic