New Michael Jackson Album 'Xscape' Coming in May

L.A. Reid and Timbaland took the lead in "contemporizing" eight of Jackson's completed vocal tracks.

Epic Records and Michael Jackson's estate have announced they'll release Xscape, an eight-song collection of previously unreleased tracks from the late King of Pop, on May 13.

PHOTOS: Inside Cirque’s New Las Vegas Thriller 'Michael Jackson One'

Label CEO, and the project's executive producer, L.A. Reid, took the lead in cultivating recordings from Jackson in which his vocals were completed, and Reid went about "contemporizing" each one. The album's head producer was Timbaland, with additional work courtesy of Rodney JerkinsStargateJerome "Jroc" Harmon and John McClain.

"Michael left behind some musical performances that we take great pride in presenting through the vision of music producers that he either worked directly with or expressed strong desire to work with," Reid said in a statement on Monday. "We are extremely proud and honored to present this music to the world."

STORY: Michael Jackson Hologram Conjures Billionaire's Patent Lawsuit

Xscape continues the tradition of naming Jackson's albums after one of its songs. The title track was written and produced by Jackson and Jerkins, who recorded the original with the singer.

Epic will release a deluxe edition of the album that will include all the sourced recordings in their original form. Both the standard and deluxe editions are available Tuesday (April 1) for preorder on iTunes and elsewhere. A global campaign will incorporate One Sony sister companies, including Sony Network Entertainment.

More information, including track listing, will be released soon. This article first appeared on