'A Very Special Christmas' Celebrates 25th Anniversary

Very Special Christmas CD cover P

A Very Special Christmas, the compilation album first issued in 1987 that featured such iconic holiday classics as U2's "Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)," celebrates its 25th anniversary this year.

To honor the achievement, and the $100 million raised to benefit the Special Olympics over nine releases, the series will see two new albums come out on Oct. 16 -- A Very Special Christmas 25th Anniversary, Bringing Joy to the World, which includes traditional Christmas songs by such artists as Dave Matthews, Christina Aguilera, Michael Buble, Jason Mraz, Train and OneRepublic, and a second comp, Bringing Peace on Earth, featuring Christian artists like Point of Grace and American Idol alum Jason Castro.

PHOTOS: 7 Most Popular Christmas Songs From Radio

The albums will be released by Big Machine Records and Word Records, respectively.  

Sales of the Very Special Christmas collections are “the largest single source of funding for the Special Olympics and its athletes,” says Special Olympics CEO Timothy Shriver. The albums' popularity in the U.S. has also given rise to titles such as Jazz to the World and World Christmas albums, which feature international music artists.

See the full track listings below: 

A Very Special Christmas 25th Anniversary, Bringing Joy to the World  

1)      Train - “Joy to the World”
2)      Lauriana Mae, Jono, Grayson Sanders - “Something In the Air”
3)      Jewel - “Angels We Have Heard On High”
4)      Michael Bublé - “It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas”
5)      Jordin Sparks - “Do You Hear What I Hear”
6)      Cheap Trick -  “I Want You for Christmas”
7)      Rascal Flatts - “Mary, Did You Know”
8)      Wonder Girls - “Best Christmas Ever”
9)      Amy Grant  - “Tennessee Christmas”
10)   OneRepublic - “Christmas Without You”
11)   Vince Gill - “Breath Of Heaven (Mary’s Song)”
12)   Martina McBride - “Please Come Home for Christmas”
13)   Jason Mraz - “Winter Wonderland”
14)   Francesca Battistelli - “December 25”
15)   Dave Matthews - “The Christmas Song (9.18.10, Chicago, IL)”
16)   Christina Aguilera - “Oh Holy Night”

A Very Special Christmas, Bringing Peace on Earth

1)      Sidewalk Prophets – “Because It's Christmas”
2)      Jason Castro – “Gloria (Hark! The Herald Angels Sing / Angels We Have Heard On High)”
3)      for KING & COUNTRY – “Baby Boy”
4)      Francesca Battistelli – “O Come, O Come, Emmanuel”
5)      Group 1 Crew – “O Holy Night”
6)      Dara Maclean (feat. Dave Barnes) – “Bethlehem Skies”
7)      Chris August – “Jesus, Savior”
8)      Jamie Grace – “Christmas Together”
9)      NEEDTOBREATHE – “Go Tell It On The Mountain”
10)   Meredith Andrews – “(He Has Come For Us) God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen”
11)   Big Daddy Weave – “O Come, All Ye Faithful”
12)   Natalie Grant – “I Believe”
13)   BarlowGirl – “For The Beauty Of The Earth (Nativity Version)”
14)   Building 429 – “We Three Kings”
15)   Point of Grace – “Labor Of Love”
16)   Mark Schultz – “When Love Was Born”

Twitter: @THRMusic