2019 Harvey Awards Nominees Unveiled

Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me Art - Publicity - H 2019
Rosemary Valero-O'Connell/First Second Books
The comic book honors will be presented at this year's New York Comic Con.

Nominees for this year’s Harvey Awards have been announced, opening the monthlong voting period for comic book professionals ahead of the award ceremony at the upcoming New York Comic Con.

The Harveys, named for MAD Magazine and EC Comics cartoonist Harvey Kurtzman, were founded in 1988 and — unlike the Will Eisner Awards, presented annually at San Diego Comic-Con — focus on celebrating works rather than creators, with just six categories open for voting by comic book professionals attending NYCC. In addition to these categories, three additional Special Awards are available at the discretion of the Harvey Awards Executive Committee: the Harvey Kurtzman Award for Humor, the Harvey Hall of Fame Award and the International Spotlight Award.

This year’s Harvey Awards will be given out at an invitation-only ceremony on Oct. 4 at Hudson Mercantile in New York. The full list of nominees is below.

Book of the Year
Belonging: A German Reckons with History and Home by Nora Krug (Scribner)
Berlin by Jason Lutes (Drawn & Quarterly)
BTTM FDRS by Ezra Claytan Daniels and Ben Passmore (Fantagraphics)
Hey Kiddo by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (Scholastic Graphix)
Kid Gloves by Lucy Knisley (First Second)
Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me by Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell (First Second)
My Heroes Have Always Been Junkies by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips (Image)
On a Sunbeam by Tillie Walden (First Second)
Upgrade Soul by Ezra Claytan Daniels (Lion Forge)
When I Arrived at the Castle by Emily Carroll (Koyama Press)

Digital Book of the Year
Check, Please by Ngozi Ukazu
Space Boy by Stephen McCranie
The Contradictions by Sophie Yanow
The Nib edited by Matt Bors
Woman World by Aminder Dhaliwal

Best Children’s or Young Adult Book
Hey Kiddo by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (Scholastic Graphix)
Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me by Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell (First Second)
Mr. Wolf's Class #2: Mystery Club by Aron Nels Steinke (Scholastic Graphix)
New Kid by Jerry Craft (HarperCollins Children’s Books)
On a Sunbeam by Tillie Walden (First Second)

Best Manga
Frankenstein: Junji Ito Story Collection by Junji Ito (VIZ Media)
Mob Psycho 100 by ONE (Dark Horse Manga)
My Hero Academia by Kohei Horikoshi (VIZ Media)
Our Dreams at Dusk by Yuhki Kamatani (Seven Seas)
Smashed by Junji Ito (VIZ Media)
Witch Hat Atelier by Kamome Shirahama (Kodansha Comics)

Best European Book
Corto Maltese by Hugo Pratt (IDW Publishing)
O Josephine by Jason (Fantagraphics)
Radiant by Tony Valente (VIZ Media)
Red Ultramarine by Manuele Fior, translated by Jamie Richards (Fantagraphics)
Waves by Ingrid Chabbert and Carole Maurel (Archaia)

Best Comics Adaptation Award
Alita: Battle Angel, 20th Century Fox, based on Battle Angel Alita (Kodansha USA)
Avengers: Endgame, Marvel Studios, based on The Avengers (Marvel Entertainment)
The Boys, Amazon Studios, based on The Boys (Dynamite Entertainment)
Captain Marvel, Marvel Studios, based on Captain Marvel (Marvel Entertainment)
Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, Netflix, based on Chilling Adventures of Sabrina (Archie Comics)
Doom Patrol, DC Universe, based on Doom Patrol (DC)
Marvel's Spider-Man, Insomniac Games/Sony Interactive, based on Spider-Man (Marvel Entertainment)
The Snagglepuss Chronicles, Provincetown Tennessee Williams Theater Festival and Die-Cast, based on Exit, Stage Left!: The Snagglepuss Chronicles (DC)
Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, Columbia Pictures and Sony Pictures Animation, based on Spider-Man (Marvel Entertainment)
The Umbrella Academy, Netflix, based on The Umbrella Academy (Dark Horse Comics)