2020 Eisner Award Winners Revealed

'Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me' and creator Stan Sakai were the big winners of the night.
'Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me,' which won three Eisner Awards this weekend.   |   Rosemary Valero-O'Connell/First Second Books
'Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me' and creator Stan Sakai were the big winners of the night.

Amid questions about its online voting process, the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards announced the winners of its 32nd annual awards via an online video Friday night, although not every winner accepted the honor.

The big winner of the night were First Second Books’ Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me, which landed three awards: best writer for Maiko Tamaki, best penciller/inker for Rosemary Valero-O’Connell, and best publication for teens. Usagi Yojimbo creator Stan Sakai also had a successful night, taking home two awards — best lettering and best archival collection, for Stan Sakai’s Usagi Yojimbo: The Complete Grasscutter — as well as being inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Due to the COVID-impacted nature of San Diego Comic-Con this year, the awards ceremony consisted of actor Phil Lamar reading the results out on YouTube. Reaction unfolded in real time on social media, including Nola Pfau, editor-in-chief of Women Write About Comics, which won the best comics-related periodical/journalism category, turning down the award because of uncertainties surrounding the vote.

“I can’t personally accept this award,” Pfau wrote in a statement posted on Twitter. “I can’t accept an award that isn’t clearly won. I can’t accept a pall over my colleagues’ victory, the slightest dash of doubt in their celebrations.”

The full list of winners is below.

Best Short Story
“Hot Comb,” by Ebony Flowers, in Hot Comb (Drawn & Quarterly)
Best Single Issue/One-Shot
Our Favorite Thing Is My Favorite Thing Is Monsters, by Emil Ferris (Fantagraphics)
Best Continuing Series
Bitter Root, by David Walker, Chuck Brown, and Sanford Greene (Image)
Best Limited Series
Little Bird by Darcy Van Poelgeest andIan Bertram (Image)
Best New Series
Invisible Kingdom, by G. Willow Wilson and Christian Ward (Berger Books/Dark Horse)
Best Publication for Early Readers
Comics: Easy as ABC, by Ivan Brunetti (TOON)
Best Publication for Kids
Guts, by Raina Telgemeier (Scholastic Graphix)
Best Publication for Teens
Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me, by Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O'Connell (First Second/Macmillan)
Best Humor Publication 
The Way of the Househusband, vol. 1, by Kousuke Oono, translation by Sheldon Drzka (VIZ Media)
Best Anthology
Drawing Power: Women’s Stories of Sexual Violence, Harassment, and Survival, edited by Diane Noomin (Abrams)
Best Reality-Based Work
They Called Us Enemy, by George Takei, Justin Eisinger, Steven Scott, and Harmony Becker (Top Shelf)
Best Graphic Album—New
Are You Listening? by Tillie Walden (First Second/Macmillan)
Best Graphic Album—Reprint
LaGuardia, by Nnedi Okorafor and Tana Ford (Berger Books/Dark Horse)
Best Adaptation from Another Medium
Snow, Glass, Apples, by Neil Gaiman and Colleen Doran (Dark Horse Books)
Best U.S. Edition of International Material
The House, by Paco Roca, translation by Andrea Rosenberg (Fantagraphics)
Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia (TIE)
Cats of the Louvre, by Taiyo Matsumoto, translation by Michael Arias (VIZ Media)
Witch Hat Atelier, by Kamome Shirahama, translation by Stephen Kohler (Kodansha)
Best Archival Collection/Project—Strips
Krazy Kat: The Complete Color Sundays, by George Herriman, edited by Alexander Braun (TASCHEN)
Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books
Stan Sakai’s Usagi Yojimbo: The Complete Grasscutter Artist Select, by Stan Sakai, edited by Scott Dunbier (IDW)
Best Writer
Mariko Tamaki, Harley Quinn: Breaking Glass (DC); Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me (First Second/Macmillan); Archie (Archie)
Best Writer/Artist
Raina Telgemeier, Guts (Scholastic Graphix)
Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team
Rosemary Valero-O'Connell, Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me (First Second/Macmillan)
Best Painter/Digital Artist
Christian Ward, Invisible Kingdom (Berger Books/Dark Horse)
Best Cover Artist
Emma Rios, Pretty Deadly (Image)
Best Coloring
Dave Stewart, Black Hammer, B.P.R.D.: The Devil You Know, Hellboy and the BPRD (Dark Horse); Gideon Falls (Image); Silver Surfer Black, Spider-Man (Marvel)
Best Lettering
Stan Sakai, Usagi Yojimbo (IDW)
Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism
Women Write About Comics, edited by Nola Pfau and Wendy Browne,
Best Comics-Related Book
Making Comics, by Lynda Barry (Drawn & Quarterly)
Best Academic/Scholarly Work
EC Comics: Race, Shock, and Social Protest, by Qiana Whitted (Rutgers University Press)
Best Publication Design
Making Comics, designed by Lynda Barry (Drawn & Quarterly)
Best Digital Comic
Afterlift, by Chip Zdarsky and Jason Loo (comiXology Originals)
Best Webcomic
Fried Rice, by Erica Eng, https://friedricecomic.tumblr.com
Hall of Fame
Judges’ Choices: Nell Brinkley, E. Simms Campbell
Voters’ Choices: Alison Bechdel, Howard Cruse, Stan Sakai, Louise Simonson, Don and Maggie Thompson, Bill Watterson

  1. by Carolyn Giardina , Aaron Couch