'Batman: The Killing Joke': See Mark Hamill in the Studio Ready to Sing as The Joker (Exclusive)

The soundtrack for the R-rated animated film hits stores July 22.

This soundtrack is no joke.

Ahead of the release of Batman: The Killing JokeHeat Vision has an exclusive preview of the soundtrack to the R-rated, animated film. The eerie end credits song (available below) closes out the anticipated adaptation of Alan Moore and Brian Bolland's classic 1988 graphic novel.

The soundtrack also features something Batman fans have been waiting decades for — Mark Hamill's Joker singing "I Go Looney," which will bring an iconic point from the graphic novel to life. (He'll have you believing "life is swell in a padded cell.") 

The score was recorded using a live orchestra and composed by talents DC fans should be familiar with: Its composers are Lolita Ritmanis, Kristopher Carter and Michael McCuistion, known for work on projects such as Justice LeagueBatman Beyond and Young Justice. And many of the musicians who recorded the score for the classic 90s Batman: The Animated Series returned for the soundtrack. 

The adaptation has long been anticipated by fans, and its R-rating has added to the buzz surrounding the animated film, which follows The Joker from his early days to his first meeting with Batman (Kevin Conroy) to years later, when the Clown Prince of Crime escapes Arkham and seeks to prove that any man can be driven insane by one bad day — even Commissioner Gordon (Ray Wise). 

From left: Kristopher Carter, Lolita Ritmanis Mark Hamill and Michael McCuistion (Courtesy WaterTower Music)

Sam Liu directed the film, with Bruce Timm and Sam Register serving as executive producers.

"Bruce and Sam are deeply sensitive to the effect of music on the scenes," says Carter said in a statement. "During our meetings, we would discuss what was happening not only onscreen, but also what was NOT onscreen that the music can support. Communicating what the characters are thinking and feeling is one of the most powerful uses of music in film, and it was a joy to collaborate with film makers that want to find just the right tone to help tell the story."

Batman: The Killing Joke - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack is on sale July 22 on digital platforms from WaterTower Music and on CD from La-La Land Records.Batman: The Killing Joke hits stores Aug. 2 from Warner Bros. Home Entertainment and is available on digital HD July 26.

Check out the full track list below.

  1. How the Story Begins*
  2. We've Got a Robbery**
  3. Uncle Not Pleased***
  4. Narcissist and Sociopath**
  5. Hit on Yacht***
  6. Serious Business*
  7. Bats and Babs Cross the Line***
  8. Rooftop Regrets***
  9. The Abyss**
  10. Batman Was Right*
  11. Storage Unit Corpses***
  12. The Halls of Arkham**
  13. Joker Imposter***
  14. Making a Killing**
  15. Jeannie Flashback*
  16. Looking for a Clue**
  17. Broken Books***
  18. Hoods Present the Hood***
  19. Nothing Will Be the Same**
  20. Trapped in a Nightmare*
  21. Jeannie Is Gone*
  22. Bats Pummels for Clues***
  23. Throw the Book**
  24. Horrifying Images**
  25. Bats Receives Tickets***
  26. Ghost Train Stops*
  27. Chemical Factory Heist***
  28. Batman Arrives at the Carnival*
  29. Merry-Go-Round Source**
  30. By the Book**
  31. All It Takes Is One Bad Day*
  32. Let Me Help You**
  33. Oracle Is Here***
  34. End Credits**** 3:07?35.
  35. "I Go Looney" *****  Performed by Mark Hamill?

* composed by Lolita Ritmanis?
** composed by Michael McCuistion?
*** composed by Kristopher Carter?
****  composed by Michael McCuistion, Kristopher Carter & Lolita Ritmanis?
***** music by Michael McCuistion, Kristopher Carter & Lolita Ritmanis?