Cartoonist Studio Prize 2014 Nominees Announced

Erika Moen, Emily Carroll and Gene Luen Yang are amongst the cartoonists listed for the second year of the award.
Gene Luen Yang/First Second Books

The shortlists for the second annual Cartoonist Studio Prize have been released, showcasing twenty of the best comics from the last twelve months in both print and digital formats.

The Prize, organized by the Slate Book Review and the Center for Cartoon Studies, is actually two prizes: one for print graphic novels, and another for webcomics. Both shortlists feature ten nominees chosen by Slate editor Dan Kois, students and faculty at the CCS and guest judge and comic book retailer Christopher Butcher.

STORY: DeForge Leads the Way in 2013 Ignatz Awards

In the graphic novel category, the nominees include Gene Luen Yang's Boxers & Saints, Julio's Day by Gilbert Hernandez and Ulli Lust's Today is the Last Day of the Rest of Your Life, a memoir about teenagers lost in Italy during the 1980s.

For webcomics, the nominations go from Erika Moen's wonderful Oh Joy, Sex Toy to French cartoonist Boulet's semi-autobiographical time travel strip Bouletcorp, with stops for Gabrielle Bell, Emily Carroll and K.C. Green in between, amongst others.

The winners of both categories will be announced March 7. Full nominee lists can be found here.