DC Sets 'Future State' Publishing Event For 2021

DC Future State
Dan Mora/DC
A new line of superhero books set in the future of the DC universe will run in January and February.

DC is starting 2021 by looking into the future of its superhero universe with DC Future State, a two-month publishing event that offers glimpses at what might be coming for Batman, Wonder Woman and the rest of the Justice League.

As part of Future State, DC’s regular publishing line will be replaced by a new line-up of titles in a variety of formats — including oversized anthologies such as Future State: The Next Batman, and Future State: Superman of Metropolis, featuring a number of different characters including Mister Miracle, Black Racer and the Guardian — for the entirety of January and February, introducing concepts that hint at the future of the company’s iconic characters.

Creators involved in the two-month event include John Ridley, Vita Ayala, Becky Cloonan, Joshua Williamson and Nicola Scott.

“The DC Universe has always been fertile ground for new and refreshing takes on our characters, and DC Future State definitely contributes to this legacy,” DC executive editor Marie Javins said in a statement. “When the event begins in January, some savvy readers will not only pick up on some of the breadcrumbs that have already been tossed out in our current titles, but they will also find new hints and clues of what’s to come in 2021.”

Per DC, the full line-up of DC Future State titles is as follows:

Oversized Anthologies:
Future State: The Next Batman Nos. 1-4
Featuring: The Next Batman, by John Ridley, Nick Derington and Laura Braga, Outsiders, by Brandon Thomas and Sumit Kumar, Arkham Knights, by Paul Jenkins and Jack Herbert, Batgirls, by Vita Ayala and Aneke, and Gotham City Sirens, by Paula Sevenbergen and Emanuela Lupacchino

Future State: Dark Detective Nos. 1-4
Featuring: Dark Detective, by Mariko Tamaki and Dan Mora, Grifters, by Matthew Rosenberg and Carmine di Giandomenico, and Red Hood, by Joshua Williamson and Giannis Milonogiannis

Future State: Superman of Metropolis Nos. 1-2
Featuring Superman of Metropolis, by Sean Lewis and John Timms, The Guardian, by Sean Lewis and Cully Hamner, and Mister Miracle, by Brandon Easton and Valentine De Landro

Future State: Superman: Worlds of War Nos. 1-4
Featuring: Superman: Worlds of War, by Phillip Kennedy Johnson and Mikel Janin, Midnighter, by Becky Cloonan, Michael W. Conrad and Gleb Melnikov, Black Racer, by Jeremy Adams and Siya Oum, and Mister Miracle, by Brandon Easton and Valentine De Landro

Future State: Immortal Wonder Woman Nos. 1-2
Featuring Immortal Wonder Woman, by Becky Cloonan, Michael W. Conrad and Jen Bartel, and Nubia, by L.L. McKinney, Alitha E. Martinez and Mark Morales

Future State: Justice League Nos. 1-2
Featuring: Justice League, by Joshua Williamson and Robson Rocha, and Justice League Dark, by Ram V and Marcio Takara

Future State: Green Lantern Nos. 1-2
Featuring: Last Lanterns, by Geoffrey Thorne and Tom Raney, and Tales of the Green Lantern Corps, by Josie Campbell, Ryan Cady and Ernie Altbacker, with Sami Basri and Clayton Henry

Future State: Suicide Squad Nos. 1-2
Featuring: Suicide Squad, by Robbie Thompson and Javi Fernandez, and Black Adam, by Jeremy Adams and Fernando Pasarin

Monthly Miniseries and Oneshots:
Future State: Batman/Superman, by Gene Luen Yang and Ben Oliver
Future State: Catwoman, by Ram V and Otto Schmidt
Future State: Harley Quinn, by Stephanie Phillips and Simone Di Meo
Future State: Nightwing, by Andrew Constant and Nicola Scott
Future State: Robin Eternal, by Meghan Fitzmartin and Eddy Barrows
Future State: House of El, by Phillip Kennedy Johnson and Scott Godlewski (one-shot on sale February)
Future State: Kara Zor-El, Superwoman, by Marguerite Bennett and Marguerite Sauvage
Future State: Legion of Super-Heroes, by Brian Michael Bendis and Riley Rossmo
Future State: Superman vs. Imperious Lex, by Mark Russell and Steve Pugh (3-issue series ending March 2021)
Future State: Wonder Woman, by Joëlle Jones
Future State: Aquaman, by Brandon Thomas and Daniel Sampere
Future State: The Flash, by Brandon Vietti and Dale Eaglesham
Future State: Teen Titans, by Tim Sheridan and Rafa Sandoval
Future State: SHAZAM!, by Tim Sheridan and Eduardo Pansica
Future State: Swamp Thing, by Ram V and Mike Perkins