Disney, Del Rey to Launch New 'Star Wars' Book Line

Star Wars A New Dawn Cover - P 2014
<p>Star Wars A New Dawn Cover - P 2014</p>   |   Disney Publishing Worldwide/Del Rey Books
Titles will be published on a bi-monthly schedule starting in September, with each release now officially part of the story canon.

On the heels of Lucasfilm's announcement of a new, coordinated approach between Star Wars movies, animated series and spinoff material, Disney Publishing Worldwide has unveiled a new line of Star Wars prose, to be published with Del Rey Books.

Jeanne Mosure, senior vp and group publisher of Disney Publishing Worldwide, said in a statement that "with the establishment of the Lucasfilm Story Group and our even greater focus on unified storytelling, we expect our entire [Star Wars] publishing program to be stronger and more meaningful than ever before," adding that Disney was "extremely excited to kick off this new strategy with Del Rey Books."

STORY: Lucasfilm Unveils New Plans for 'Star Wars' Expanded Universe

Four launch titles were announced by Disney and Del Rey in today's statement. Star Wars: A New Dawn, written by John Jackson Miller with input from Star Wars Rebels producers Dave Filoni, Simon Kinberg and Greg Weisman, will be released in print and digitally on Sept. 2, 2014, to be followed by James Luceno's Star Wars: Tarkin on Nov. 4, Kevin Hearne's Star Wars: Heir to the Jedi in Jan. 2015, and finally, Paul Kemp's Star Wars: Lords of the Sith in March of next year.

Del Rey's senior vp and publisher Scott Shannon said that they are "excited to finally be able to call our upcoming novels true canon -- a single, cohesive Star Wars storyline."

As announced by Lucasfilm earlier today, existing Star Wars novels will remain in print under the latest Star Wars Legends banner, to differentiate them from the newly established core continuity moving forward.