'Hellboy Omnibus' Comics Are Coming Ahead of the New Movie

Hellboy in Hell Cover 1 - P 2013
<p>Hellboy in Hell Cover 1 - P 2013</p>   |   Mike Mignola/Dark Horse Comics
Dark Horse Comics announced a brand-new series of collections for Mike Mignola's iconic demon.

If the first look at David Harbour as the new big-screen Hellboy whet appetites for demonic heroes and fateful red right-hands of doom, have no fear: Dark Horse Comics has announced new editions of Mike Mignola's original Hellboy comic books, which will see the story collected in chronological order for the first time.

The four new Hellboy Omnibus collections will feature every Hellboy story written and illustrated by Mignola, as well as Mignola's collaborations with artist Duncan Fegredo — which include "The Wild Hunt," the storyline that will form the basis for the upcoming cinematic reboot of the franchise. Unlike previous collections, the Omnibus will see each story presented in the timeline of the fictional universe, as opposed to the order in which they were originally published.

"I'm very excited to finally have all the Hellboy stories collected in chronological order," Mignola said in a statement from the publisher. "And I'm especially excited to have the three Duncan Fegredo books — all the stuff with Alice and the Queen of Blood — together in one collection for the first time."

Beyond the four Omnibus collections, Dark Horse also has announced a companion series, Hellboy: The Complete Short Stories, which will feature shorts written by Mignola and illustrated by such artists as Gabriel Ba, Fabio Moon and Richard Corben. All six of the new editions will feature brand-new cover artwork by Mignola, colored by his long-term collaborator Dave Stewart.

The first volume of Hellboy Omnibus will be available in comic book stores on May 23, 2018, and in bookstores on June 5, 2018.