How Horror Anthology 'House of Waxwork' Mixes Music and Monsters

House of Waxwork Announce
Waxwork Records
The release includes a 32-page comic book and a vinyl record.

This Halloween season, it’s time to update your monster music — and your reading list, at the same time — with the release of the latest installment of House of Waxwork, the annual comic-and-music anthology from independent label Waxwork Records.

Waxwork Records has been releasing House of Waxworks anthologies since 2017, with each issue featuring horror host the Die-Rector — and, as of last year’s issue, the De-Composer — introducing readers not only to the short stories inside the comics themselves, but the music accompanying them; previous releases have featured tracks from Douglas Pipes, Kevin Dredge, Joel Grind and more.

The fourth issue in the series features work from Clay McCormack and Christian DiBari, soundtracked by Pilotpriest; and Jacob Sehman and Morgan Beem, soundtracked by SubRosa. Examples of artwork from both stories, as well as preparatory sketches and artwork from Jonas Scharf featuring the hosts introducing each story, can be seen below.

House of Waxwork No. 4, as with earlier releases, will be released as a 32-page comic book with accompanying colored vinyl. It’ll be available in two variants, depending on the vinyl, with a “Moonlighting” variant featuring a blue and silver 7”, and a “Silent Night Slasher” variant with a red and white swirled 7”.

More details, including ordering information, can be found at the Waxwork Records site, but look and listen below for a special sneak peek: