DC Revamping 'Justice League' Comic Book Line

The shuffle begins with best-selling writer Scott Snyder's 'No Justice.'
Courtesy of Francis Manapul/DC Entertainment

The stakes are going to be raised for DC’s Justice League this summer, as three of the company’s biggest writers — Scott Snyder, Joshua Williamson and James Tynion IV — come together to remake the comic book franchise, beginning with a special weekly miniseries running through May.

The relaunch of the Justice League family of titles will be led by Snyder, whose Batman series remained the best-selling comic of the line throughout DC’s “New 52” era; he’ll be writing the central Justice League series, with Williamson (The Flash, Justice League/Suicide Squad) and Tynion (Detective Comics, Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles) writing additional series to be announced at a later date.

Ahead of the new series, the three will co-write the four-issue Justice League: No Justice, to be illustrated by Francis Manapul, which sees the heroes of the DC Universe forced to team up with their arch-enemies when a threat to all existence approaches Earth. The story spins out of the March conclusion of Snyder’s Dark Nights: Metal miniseries with artist Greg Capullo.

“We thought we knew the entire map of the DC cosmos,” Snyder said in a statement from the publisher. “We thought we had explored all there was to explore. But now we know that all this time the Multiverse was nothing but a fishbowl, and now we’ve been dumped into the ocean, unleashing terrifying new threats and wondrous new possibilities. Metal opened up channels of storytelling that Francis, James, Joshua and I are excited to explore in a big way. When we’re finished, fans will never look at the Justice League in the same way again.”

Justice League: No Justice launches May 9 and runs weekly subsequently. Snyder’s new Justice League series will begin the following month.