Marvel to Release Massive 'Avengers' Comic Book Box Set Ahead of 'Avengers 4'

The 11-volume slipcase includes the most important comic book storylines in the franchise's 55-year history.
Jack Kirby/Marvel Entertainment
The 11-volume slipcase includes the most important comic book storylines in the franchise's 55-year history.

Ahead of next May’s release of the follow-up to Avengers: Infinity War, Marvel Entertainment will release a comic book primer on the company’s premiere superhero team like none before — in terms of sheer volume, if nothing else.

April’s Avengers: Earth’s Mightiest Box Set Slipcase will gather 11 collected editions across the 50-plus years of the franchise’s history, from the very first-ever Avengers comics by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby to the opening six issues of the current volume of the series. Altogether, the slipcase collection includes some of the most iconic — and most popular — stories from the property, with creators represented including Steve Englehart, Kurt Busiek, George Perez, John Buscema, Roger Stern, Brian Michael Bendis and more.

The collections in the Earth’s Mightiest Box Set are: Avengers by Lee & Kirby (#1-16 of the original run); Avengers: The Kree/Skrull War (#89-97); Avengers/Defenders War (#115-118, as well as Defenders #8-11); Avengers: Celestial Madonna (#129-135 and Giant-Size Avengers #2-4); Avengers: The Korvac Saga (#167-168, 170-177 and Thor Annual #6); Avengers: Under Siege (#270-277); Avengers: The Gatherers Saga (#343-344, 348-349, 355-363, 372-374 and material from #364 and 377); Avengers: The Morgan Conquest (1-4 of the third volume); Avengers Forever (all 12 issues of the series of the same name); Avengers: Disassembled (#500-503 and the Avengers Finale special issue); and Avengers: The Final Host (#1-6 of the current series, along with material from this year’s Free Comic Book Day 2018: Avengers/Captain America issue).

The Avengers: Earth’s Mightiest Box Set Slipcase is scheduled to bow April 13. The still-untitled fourth Avengers movie follows on May 3.

  1. July 18, 2019 2:54pm PT
    by Patrick Shanley
Joe Biden, Kamala Harris Set to Rematch in Second Democratic Debate
'The Girl in the Spider's Web' Star Sylvia Hoeks Returns to ICM Partners (Exclusive)
'Moscow Moscow Moscow Moscow Moscow Moscow': Theater Review
'His Dark Materials' Is Not an Attack on Religion, Stars Say as First Trailer Debuts
'Last Chance U' Season 4: TV Review