'Preacher' Co-Creator Steve Dillon to Receive Posthumous Sketchbook Tribute at New York Comic Con

Steve Dillon Memorial - Publicity - P 2017
Bill Sienkiewicz
Proceeds from the 'Steve Dillon Memorial Sketchbook' will go to the Hero Initiative charity.

Steve Dillon, co-creator of Preacher and comic book artist for Marvel, DC, 2000AD and countless other publishers and series throughout a career that lasted almost four decades, died last October at the age of 54. This year's New York Comic Con will pay tribute to the beloved creator with the debut of the Steve Dillon Memorial Charity Sketchbook, featuring contributions from a number of Dillon's friends, contemporaries and fans.

Behind a cover from New Mutants and Elektra: Assassin artist Bill Sienkiewicz, the 32-page release features all-new artwork from Preacher cover artist Glenn Fabry, Hellboy's Duncan Fegredo, Watchmen's John Higgins and many more, with an introduction from Dillon's friend and Preacher co-creator Garth Ennis.

All proceeds from sales of the sketchbook — limited to a 2,000-print run available at New York Comic Con and the U.K.'s MCM London convention on Oct. 27-29 — will be donated to the Hero Initiative, Dillon's favorite charity, which helps comic creators in financial need. Those purchasing the sketchbook at NYCC will also receive special prints of John Constantine from Hellblazer by Sean Phillips and Jeff Lemire, as well as one of Dogwelder, co-created by Dillon, by Russ Braun.

The Steve Dillon Memorial Charity Sketchbook will be available at NYCC at the 2000AD booth (#2244). New York Comic Con is set to run Oct. 5-9 at the Javits Center.

The full list of artists contributing is below. 

Bill Sienkiewicz
Duncan Fegredo
Cliff Chiang
Jill Thompson
Rafael Albuquerque
Chris Weston
Philip Bond
Kev Walker
John Higgins
Declan Shalvey
Goran Parlov
Glenn Fabry
Liam Sharp
John McCrea
PJ Holden
Jerry Paris
Al Davidson
Laurence Campbell
Steve Yeowell
Mike Collins
Kev Hopgood
Dom Reardon
Keith Burns
Giulia Brusco
Doug Braithwaite
Niko Henrichon
Richard Case
Will Simpson
Clint Langley
Dave Kendall
Tula Lotay
Sean Phillips
Jeff Lemire
Russ Braun